Yard Sale Finds

This past month has been super busy as I wrapped up my first school year in my current position and prepped to lead summer camp for the first time ever.  I bought skorts. Does that mean I’m officially a teacher now?

Amidst activity planning and classroom cleaning I managed to squeeze in some early Saturday morning yard sales. Last year was a total bust, but this year has been my best year ever. So I thought I’d share some of my fun scores and groundbreaking* tips – and I’d love to hear about or see your scores, too.

*Not groundbreaking at all. They’re actually pretty tried and true, but I just followed the rules this time.

yard sale finds {praylivecreate.com}

A pair of matching Chippendale chairs, demilune table, brass tray, and rocking horse = $47. And the horse cost $45.

Did you see that? The horse cost $45! I got everything else for a combined $2! I have plans to redo the chairs, stay tuned.

That leads me to Tip #1: Wear this outfit. And you should probably get close to my friend Nicole, too.

yard sale finds {praylivecreate.com}

The secret to my success that day? My friend Nicole who’s just all around approachable, creative, and a total yard sale trooper. But I still told her I’m wearing this outfit every time I yard sale from now on.

Tip #2: Get up early! Withdraw cash the night before, set your alarm clock, grab some oatmeal, and stick a Greek yogurt in your purse for later, because the good stuff is gone after breakfast.

I finally started preparing for yard sales the day before so that I could be out the door by 8am, and it paid off big time.

yard sale finds {praylivecreate.com}

Blue & white flower pot = $2.

yard sale finds {praylivecreate.com}

Mid century modern brass candle holders = $2 for the set.

Tip #3: Search for yard sales on Craigslist the week before so that you can have a plan of attack. Community yard sales are great because you’ll have a lot of sellers in one area.

yard sale finds {praylivecreate.com}

Antique nightstand, sofa table, 2 cans of spray paint = $22. I paid $10 for each table and $1 for each can of spray paint. Makeover to come.

yard sale finds {praylivecreate.com}

The First Christmas pop-up book and Walt Disney Classic Storybook = $2

And that’s that. I scored a couple other fun finds, but these are my favorites.  I plan on giving most of the furniture makeovers this summer, and I’ll be back later to show you what I’m doing with each piece.

What’s your best yard sale score?Any new or tried and true yard sale tips I should know?

Stephanie from praylivecreate.com

6 comments

  1. Oh gosh, those Chippendale chairs! LOVE, love, love!

    Your tip about staying with your friend made me laugh. When I first started going to yard sales, one of my best friends + I would go after church on Sundays. She is such an outgoing, kind, warm person… she could talk anything down to a low price! I try to bring her with me to yard sales whenever possible.

    Like

    1. Thanks Mary! I haven’t got to them yet (I’m doing the dresser and desk first) but hopefully before summer’s over.

      >

      Like

Join the Conversation

