Be Brave

Be Brave {praylivecreate.com}

Ten years ago I moved to New York City with $500 dollars in my pocket, nowhere else to go, and a dream of using music to make the world a safer place for women and children.

In the years that followed I took a million detours, ending up in all the right clubs with all the right successes but with just a lot of emptiness to show for it, until God lovingly stripped me of everything I didn’t need and turned my life upside down so it could be turned right side up again.

BeBrave_2008

We’re talking three late stage illnesses, tens of thousands of dollars in medical bills, and more trips to the ER than could ever be counted. We’re talking losing it all so that something new could be created (2 Corinthians 5:17).

And if I could go back and say anything to that woman ten years ago, fresh out of college and with a dream bigger than she could handle it would be two words.

Not be smart. Or be reasonable. Or be realistic. Or even be safe.

It would be, “be brave” (Joshua 1:9).

Be Brave {praylivecreate.com}

The same God who parted the Red Sea is with you, too. The God who brought the walls down at Jericho. The one who shut the mouths of lions.

The one who helps you take every single step even when it feels like the next one could be your last. The one you holds your hand in the hospital, and the one who tucks you in at night in one the world’s biggest cities. The one who did it all when you couldn’t do any of that for yourself.

He’s with you.

And ten years later, I can see it more clearly than ever, that we’re made to be brave. That $500, nowhere else to go, and a dream might have put a gold record on my wall, but only God could put a new song in my heart (Psalm 40:3).

Be Brave {praylivecreate.com}

So now as I’m re-embracing brave, I’m sharing that courage with you. Whatever you’re feeling or dreaming or needing to hear, don’t forget to be brave. Our God is with you. Be brave enough to believe the dreams He’s put in your heart. Be patient enough for Him to bring them to life. Be hopeful enough to celebrate the moments right now even as you wait. Be small enough to love your people well especially when no one’s looking, and be sure that He is always with you.

Kim from praylivecreate.com

14 comments

  1. Powerful and emotional at the same time. I’m speechless, so perfectly written Kim. Love it and love you:) thx for sharing this.

    Like

  2. Your words are so beautiful and they really hit my heart! I needed to hear this today. I’ve been struggling with fears, doubts, and worries about being able to reach future dreams. I love the reminder to be brave – He has good things in store for those of us that push forward with a strong heart, soul, and mind 🙂

    Like

    1. So glad to hear that, Caitlin! I think all of us need to hear it, and I can’t take credit for writing this on my own. It’s totally what God’s saying to my heart when I need to hear it. 🙂

      Like

    1. Jen! I’ve been thinking of you all week. So glad it resonated with you. It was a conversation I had with God a couple weeks ago and wrote down. I needed to hear it, too. XO!

      Sent from my iPhone

      >

      Like

    1. Micey, thank you! I needed the encouragement myself. I wrote it down in my quiet time when it was something God was speaking to my heart, and I’m blown away that it’s blessing so many people. God is good, and I love how He knows what we need to hear over and over again.

      Sent from my iPhone

      >

      Like

  3. This reminds me of a post I read over on Cara’s blog a while back, in which she wrote about the girls she once was at different ages in her past. It’s something I’ve thinking a lot about lately, maybe because of some of the stuff that’s come up from my past, just the idea of looking back at the person I was at various times in my life and reaching out to her, loving her and trying to understand her. I guess in an effort to fully integrate and accept who I’ve been in the past and how that’s led me to be who I am now. But yes. I think there has never been (and never will be) a time in my life when I didn’t need to hear this: Be brave. And brave can mean a million different things, but it always means being true to who you were made to be and who you are called to be in Christ. Your last paragraph reminded me of Romans 12:12 “Be joyful in hope, patient in affliction, and faithful in prayer.” And maybe, just maybe, that’s really the definition of being brave after all.

    Like

    1. Yes! That verse says it all. So glad you added that, and I completely agree that brave is being who we really are in Christ, even if that’s different from what others expect of us. Love you!

      Sent from my iPhone

      >

      Like

  4. This is a powerful post, Kim. There is power in the name of Jesus! We can be brave because of who lives in us! And true to ourselves…..to others and especially God. Love this.

    Like

Join the Conversation

