Some Bible Verses About Generosity

a collection of #Bible verses about generosity #scripture

I recently wrote my first connecting the dots post and mentioned that I love when my pastor connects scriptures of a similar topic together in his messages. It’s like playing a game of connect the dots. On March 16th he delivered a sermon based on Philippians 4:14-23 about generosity, and these are some of the verses he referred to.

 Yet it was good of you to share in my troubles. Moreover, as you Philippians know, in the early days of your acquaintance with the gospel, when I set out from Macedonia, not one church shared with me in the matter of giving and receiving, except you only; for even when I was in Thessalonica, you sent me aid more than once when I was in need. Not that I desire your gifts; what I desire is that more be credited to your account. I have received full payment and have more than enough. I am amply supplied, now that I have received from Epaphroditus the gifts you sent. They are a fragrant offering, an acceptable sacrifice, pleasing to God. And my God will meet all your needs according to the riches of his glory in Christ Jesus.

To our God and Father be glory for ever and ever. Amen. – Philippians 4:14-20

A generous person will prosper;
whoever refreshes others will be refreshed. – Proverbs 11:25

And also in this translation

The liberal soul shall be made fat: and he that watereth shall be watered also himself. – Proverbs 11:25 (KJV)

 Give, and it will be given to you. A good measure, pressed down, shaken together and running over, will be poured into your lap. For with the measure you use, it will be measured to you. – Luke 6:38

Whoever is kind to the poor lends to the Lord,
and he will reward them for what they have done. – Proverbs 19:17

Bring the whole tithe into the storehouse, that there may be food in my house. Test me in this,” says the Lord Almighty, “and see if I will not throw open the floodgates of heaven and pour out so much blessing that there will not be room enough to store it…” – Malachi 3:10

I have a seriously crazy story about a Malachi 3:10 moment in my life that I’ll share with you guys soon!

To listen to or watch a video of the full sermon by Mike Minter from Reston Bible Church click here (the video is below the discussion questions).

Do you think of any other verses when you hear the word generosity? 

 

Stephanie from praylivecreate.com

4 comments

  1. Wow, I love that verse in Proverbs. What a beautiful picture to think about the purpose of generosity being to refresh others.

    A couple of passages come to mind for me, first being 2 Corinthians 9, especially verses 6-11. I love verse 11, speaking about God’s response to our giving: “You will be made rich in every way so that you can be generous on every occasion.” Oh, to be generous on every occasion! Definitely something to strive for.

    Also, 1 John 3 speaks about the demonstration of God’s love in us by meeting the needs of others–especially verse 17, “If anyone has material possessions and sees his brother in need but has no pity on him, how can the love of God be in Him?” In other words, being generous is how we demonstrate our relationship with God. And this of course made me think of Ephesians 5:1-2 “Be imitators of God, therefore, as dearly loved children and live a life of love, just as Christ loved us and gave himself up for us as a fragrant offering and sacrifice to God.” The real motivation to give generously is because God has been generous to us, and as His children, we’re striving to “grow up” to be like Him.

    Hahaha…looks like I’m doing my own connect-the-dots here 🙂 Thanks for inspiring me to get into the Word!

    Like

Join the Conversation

