Quotable: We do not fight for victory; we fight from victory

Quotable "...you will feel confused and defeated in trying to live the Christian life if you don't get this down, and you will miss opportunities to serve God and enjoy His blessings... As believers in Christ we do not fight for victory; we fight from victory. In Christ's power we are invincible." -Chip Ingram #faith #quotes

“There’s an extremely important fact that every believer must clearly understand… you will feel confused and defeated in trying to live the Christian life if you don’t get this down, and you will miss opportunities to serve God and enjoy His blessings… As believers in Christ we do not fight for victory; we fight from victory. In Christ’s power we are invincible.” -Chip Ingram, The Invisible War

The Invisible War is one of the most compelling books I’ve ever read. The book by Pastor Chip Ingram is based on his eight part teaching series about spiritual warfare, and let me tell you, it’s so worth a read! Ingram jumps off with Ephesians 6:10-12 and walks us through what the Bible teaches us about the reality of spiritual warfare and how we, as believers, should arm ourselves to fight from victory (because victory is already ours through Christ). I completed the DVD study with my small group last year, and now Kim and I are reading the book together.

XO,

steph_sig

8 comments

  1. Steph this so goes along with my devo this morning that I just posted. I have that book as decor now on my table but I so need to read it again. I seriously walked by it this morning and had that thought. It is such a powerful reminder.

    Like

    1. I LOVE your post today! You’re so right, this book fits right in with what you talked about. Definitely a great read.
      Hope you have a great weekend!

      Like

    1. It’s good! I totally recommend the DVD too. I actually preferred it a little bit – I think it’s a little more hard hitting since it’s more concise. The book expands on his teaching though, so I’ve really enjoyed following up his teaching with it. Have a good weekend!

      Like

  2. Wow. Love that. “We do not fight for victory; we fight from victory.” I need to recite this over and over until I get it through my thick skull. 🙂 Reminds me of when Jesus says, “Take heart–I have overcome the world.” (I’m paraphrasing a bit, but you know what I’m talking about!) We have all these physical senses (sight, hearing, touch, etc.) and we take in our surroundings and forget that there is more beyond that. And mostly, we forget that God has already won the war. Thanks for the encouragement and the book recommendation. I have a couple of Chip Ingram’s books on my Kindle waiting to be read, so this makes me excited to get into those, too.

    Like

Join the Conversation

