Why Making Things Beautiful Matters

Why making things beautiful matters. "The beautifiers are a gift to us from God. Instead of seeing what is, they see what could be. And in doing so, they give us all a little more inspiration, a little more boldness, a little more urge to get out there and create until we see that being disciples demands the same principle - seeing what is around us and asking, "how could this be made a little more like heaven?" (Read the full post at the link)

When I was sick, I would look at people who were focused on making things beautiful around them, and I would think they were crazy. “People are dying out here, and they’re worried about what color curtains to hang?” I would think.

Can I be honest with you? As someone who’s been pulled out of the hard things into better things I can see now that I couldn’t have been more wrong.

Hanging curtains for some people is them being exactly who God has designed them to be and doing exactly what He’s asked them to do in this season. It’s the outward expression of our Creator in them, and it blesses everyone around them.

The beautifiers are a gift to us from God. Instead of seeing what is, they see what could be. And in doing so, they give us all a little more inspiration, a little more boldness, a little more urge to get out there and create until we see that being disciples demands the same principle – seeing what is around us and asking, “how could this be made a little more like heaven?

I love what The Nester wrote in her post on Hope for the Weary Home.

I like to torture myself by adopting messes and trying to bring out their beauty. It’s my favorite and simultaneously, it’s the worst…

XO,

Kim_sig

Photo by Steph’s husband.

9 comments

  1. God designed our world with beauty in mind, it is amazing to see the way He works around us, and through others to achieve beautiful purposes. Thanks for sharing!

    Like

  2. I love how you and Krystle wrote about this idea at the same time. The idea that beauty and creativity are important pieces of who we are is something I took a long time to understand. I always saw and longed for and pursued those things, but I didn’t understand why and couldn’t express how essential it was to my very being and to my faith. One of the things that helped me on my journey was Luci Shaw’s book, “Breath for the Bones–Art, Imagination, and Spirit: Reflections on Creativity and Faith.” Your post inspired me to pull it off the shelf and review some of the passages I’d underlined. Now, mind you, I only ever made it through the first half of the book, but there was enough in that first half to change my life, give me hope and freedom in my art that I’d never known before. Here are a couple things that stood out to me as I was flipping through it this morning:

    “For the Christian believer it is significant that though we have been uniquely ‘made’ by God, we sense that we are not merely mechanisms whose sole purpose is to function efficiently, sustaining our lives, performing mental and physical work…. We who believe we bear God’s image will realize how that image include the capacity to imagine and create, because God is Himself an imaginative Creator.”

    “God, who knows us better than we know ourselves, isn’t content to speak simply to the rational intelligence but informs us through beauty, imagination, and intuition.”

    Anyway, it’s a brilliant and beautiful book on the subject, in case you want to add to the endless list of books to read in the future 🙂 . And you *know* I can’t not mention a song on the topic, so if you haven’t listened to Sara Groves “Add to the Beauty” (and really the whole album by that name), I’d definitely recommend it.

    Like

      1. Oh, that makes me so happy, Steph! I’m totally in the mood to re-read it now, too (well, re-read the first half and then finish the second half!). There’s even discussion questions/writing prompts in the back!

        Like

Join the Conversation

