What I Learned and Loved in December

what I learned and loved in december - wearegospelgirls

Happy New Year! I hope all of you are ringing it in with hope and expectation in a God who can do anything, turn everything to good, and fill us with His Spirit of love, joy, and peace. The hubster and I just got back from an amazing two week vacation, first in Denver and Boulder, Colorado, and then in Virginia, because we couldn’t resist hopping in the car and surprising Steph and her hubby for Christmas. By the way, did you know it’s incredibly hard to find a reindeer headband at highway rest stops when you actually want one?

Anyway, here’s a list of things I learned and loved in December. Thank you a ton for being here and ringing in the new year with us!

The Sound of Music Live with Carrie Underwood was so good. Like, I want to buy it on iTunes and add it to our digital library good. (I know not everyone feels this way, but the hubster sat through almost the entire thing and plus the cast was adorable, so it’s a win.)

Our physical selves might be stuck in a place we don’t want to be, our bodies might be broken, or our bank accounts might be indebted, but our souls are free. We literally cannot be defeated. We are free. (See Galatians 5:1.)

Everywhere He went, Jesus brought peace to those who would accept it (see John 20:19-21, John 14:27), and He’s still doing it to this day (see Colossians 3:15).

These are great reminders walking into 2014.

Earth Science almond aloe face moisturizer is natural and affordable and my new favorite.

necklace by Courtney Cyr

My friend Courtney made this necklace, and I want to wear it everyday or just keep it where I can see it and look at it as art.

steph and necklaces

My friend Nicole gifted both me and Steph (in the pic above) blue and turquoise beaded necklaces, and I’m wearing them like there’s no tomorrow.

It takes me at least five days to adjust to new time zones. I learned this when we spent 9 days in Denver and Boulder, Colorado. Which means it will take me exactly two to three more days to adjust to Eastern Standard Time.

The best way to return from vacation is with a freezer stocked full of pre-made meals and a clean bathroom.

iPhone + adventure to Staten Island + snowy day = my favorite photo of the month.

Bus

And lastly, I know Christmas is over, but this right here is priceless and has the spirit of Christmas all over it. (And I owe Tina a big high five for sharing it on Facebook).

Thank you for checking in! December’s most read posts are below!

December Most Read

Christmas Card Outtakes | Music for Your Midweek | Free Printable: Isaiah 9:6 | Free Printable: Luke 2:11

 Tell us what you learned and loved in December or what you’re looking forward to in the New Year!

6 comments

  1. Well, as usual, I’ve fallen behind on posts, but I figure if I jump in here, then I haven’t missed any posts yet in 2014! 🙂

    I *love, love, love* that picture of you and Hesh at the top–I didn’t even see Hesh the first time I looked at the picture! Makes me smile big. So thankful you guys had a 2 week vacation and got to spend so much time with family.

    What you said about our souls being free even when our bodies are not? It reminded me of the song by Robbie Seay Band “Cannot Have My Soul.” So I’m listening to that and tapping my foot while I write this comment. Just thought you’d like to know 🙂 .

    I’m so glad you love the necklace–and my creative brain just totally went crazy thinking of fun ways to display the necklace as art when it’s not being worn. Great idea! That could totally be another selling point. I’ll have to think on that.

    Also–your bus-in-the-snow picture is awesome! ‘K, enough of my rambling for tonight. Sending love and hugs your way, Friend!

    Like

    1. Courtney, I’m going to find that song now. You know I love your music recommendations. P.S. I couldn’t find the Narada Christmas stuff on Spotify, unless I’m just looking for the wrong thing. But I still have a mental note. Hugs to you, friend!

      Like

      1. If found it on Spotify by typing in the search box “Narada Christmas Collection Volume 1” and “Narada Christmas Collection Volume 2”. If I was smarter (i.e., if I actually used Spotify more than 3 times) I could figure out how to send you a link or a playlist or something! 🙂 Anyway, this is so you can add it to your Spotify playlists for next Christmas and not have to keep it in a mental note for a whole year–because seriously, there’s only so much room for mental notes, ya know?

        Like

Join the Conversation

