Eight Things for More of the Best in Your Life

We’ve been talking about pursuing More of God’s Best and Less of the Mess this month. And we’ve already said that means thinking of how we can be a greater force of love in the world, starting with how we love ourselves. When we love ourselves well, we can then love our neighbors as ourselves. This week we’re just laying the foundation, and when it comes to putting this stuff in practice and really seeing more of the best in our lives, if you’re anything like me that takes time. Sometimes lots and lots of time. But today we’re sharing eight things that help me experience God’s best in my life.

Treat Yo Self

We’ve seen it before, but let’s see it again. Because it’s Friday, because it’s October and fall is finally settling in, because I have to, and because it’s too good to pass up.

You're Already Amazing by Holley Gerth
You’re Already Amazing
by Holley Gerth

Leigh talked me into reading this book, but she didn’t have to try too hard. I’ve heard nothing but good things since it hit the shelves. I’m four chapters in and pretty certain I’m buying it for every woman I know.

I believe the desire to know who we really are has been placed within us by the heart of heaven itself. God wants us to understand who he created us to be so that we can fulfill the purpose he has for our lives. – Holley Gerth, You’re Already Amazing

some ingredients to loving ourselves well #31Days
What loving ourselves well looks like

Steph made this graph about what loving ourselves well looks like. I can already see areas I’m doing pretty good in, and areas I could be growing in. Since I move in baby steps, you can bet this graph will be hanging next to my bed as a daily reminder of how to embrace God’s best in my life.

Citrus-Herb-Chicken-@10minutedinners
Citrus Herb Chicken from 10 Minute Dinners

Steph and I collect healthy recipes we tried and loved on this Pinterest board. And because I eat the same things over and over again (grilled cheese and tomato soup every Sunday? No problem!) I still have a loooong list of healthy recipes to try on my Gluten-Free Recipes board, Sugar-Free Recipes board, and Crockpot Recipes board.

msn-scuplt-sexy-abs-in-minutesEasy ab workouts from Active.com

Remember those areas I could stand to grow in? Even though I feel amazing when I’m exercising regularly, and even though I love seeing muscles come in and feeling like I could finally challenge the hubster to a thumb war with a small chance of winning (he cheats… all I’m saying), this is one of those areas I need a person to keep pushing me in as I struggle with my little three pound weights. So I pay someone a small fee to do that. I hate it, but deep down I love it. Sometimes giving ourselves the best requires giving ourselves tough love. (Find more exercise and healthy lifestyle stuff on my Healthy Me board. If you know a good / easy workout routine, send it my way.)

bare minerals blushblush by Bare Minerals

Make up totally counts. Ain’t nothing wrong with putting your best face forward. I have a huge thing for Bare Minerals. So much so that I pinned all my faves on my Beautiful, Naturally board. It’s good and good for you, as the people say. Just don’t go leaving it on the train like I did. That hurts. You deserve better.

battle plan for health at wearegospelgirls.comMy Battle Plan for Health

Insert the Rocky theme song here. This is the battle plan that helped me go from sick to healthier and helped me pour out my life as an offering. It was hard. It took me over two years of baby steps to fully put it into place. It was worth it, and it’s still my battle plan today.

 We can’t love our neighbor as ourselves unless we know how to love ourselves.  There’s a theme I see women struggling with over and over again: feeling that taking care of ourselves - physically, emotionally, mentally, spiritually, creatively - is not important, significant, or of service to God. Nothing could be further from the truth... Read the full post at wearegospelgirls.com
Why Does Loving Ourselves Matter?

Monday’s post about why loving ourselves matter lays it all out there about how loving ourselves has to do with working toward God’s best in our lives and the lives of those around us. If you’re still not sure what that means or haven’t had a chance to join us this week, hop on over there and check it out.

Follow along with 31 Days to More of God’s Best and Less of the Mess with the handy dandy outline at the bottom of this post or click the button below.

31 Days to More of God's Best

Join the Conversation

