Recipe Review: The Easiest Crock Pot Shredded Chicken Ever

the easiest crock pot shredded chicken, ever

Hi friends. It’s summer. You know what sounds good in summer? Shredded chicken!

I don’t know about you, but my Midwestern roots practically beg for anything that resembles backyard BBQ fare once the calendar hits summertime. Add to that our new obsession with using the crock-pot as a secret weapon to save time, money, and sanity (it’s technically an oven-free summer recipe!) and an idea was born.

One quick Pinterest search later, and I found this recipe for crock-pot shredded chicken. Simple. Perfect. Exactly what we needed. We picked up the organic chicken breast and organic chicken broth at Costco, reached into the hubster’s spice cabinet, set the crock-pot, and were ready to go.

This was hands down one of the easiest and most cost effective recipes we’ve made. It made enough shredded chicken to feed us for two weeks, and we were able to use it for a bunch of different dishes.

My initial plan was to make a sugar free BBQ sauce and serve the chicken on gluten-free rolls. But we ended up using it for a million other things, which only means I’ll have to make this again. First we put the chicken in brown rice wraps with shredded cheese and veggies. Then I mixed it into Amy’s lentil soup and added a splash of sriracha sauce for a super easy meal. Next I smothered it in the hubster’s homemade tikka masala sauce and served it over brown rice.

the easiest crock pot shredded chicken, ever

What I love most about this recipe is that the options are endless. Here are some of the ideas I had while making this chicken:

  • Shredded chicken sandwich. Use Against the Grain rolls for a gluten-free, yeast-free bun. Add sugar-free ketchup or BBQ sauce to make it even better!
  • Shredded chicken pizza. Add it to a store bought pizza like Against the Grain pizza (gluten-free, yeast-free) or your brand of choice. Or put it on top of a brown rice wrap (link above) with BBQ sauce and shredded cheese and bake for 10 minutes.
  • Brown rice stir fry. Stir in the shredded chicken with day old rice and egg, broccoli or peas, and red and green peppers. Top with coconut aminos in place of soy sauce.
  • Chicken Salad. Mix with canola mayo or Annie’s lemon chive dressing for an egg-free mayo alternative. Serve in a wrap or on a sandwich.
  • Salad with shredded chicken. Add pistachios or walnuts, cherry tomatoes, and carrots. Top with lemon juice and olive oil.

Do you guys have any ideas for using this simple shredded chicken? Let me know! I’m thinking of adding this into our regular meal rotation.

4 comments

  1. Thx for sharing. I just pinned the chicken link. We can’t eat dairy or any nightshades so I’ll have to brainstorm some ideas to use it for. But it looks easy enough.

    Like

    1. Krystle, that’s definitely a challenge! Hopefully the chicken is basic enough that it works for you guys. I’m a dairy and potato addict, so you’ll have to let me know if you think of any other fun ways to use it. 🙂

      Like

  2. It’s so funny because I almost never use the crock pot in the summer. Maybe because I mostly use it to make soups and chili and other cold-weather food. But I would really love to have some pre-cooked shredded chicken stocked up in my freezer for other recipes, so I should definitely give this a try. Thanks for sharing!

    Like

    1. I never thought of using it in summer either, until I saw it on Pinterest. I liked this recipe because you can make a ton of chicken to use in everything, and it’s relatively food allergy friendly. I hope you like it, and if you come up with any good uses for it definitely let us know!

      Like

Join the Conversation

