Dose of hope: John 1:16

For from His fullness we have received, grace upon grace - John 1:16 (ESV) *Printable memory verse card at the link!* #dosesofhope

The gospel says that from Christ’s fullness we have received grace upon grace. Grace with more grace. Grace on top of the grace we’ve already received.

I love what Andy Stanley says about it:

“The church, or I should say, church people, must quit adding the word “but” to the end of our sentences about grace. Grace plus is no longer grace. Grace minus is no longer grace. We are afraid people will abuse grace if presented in its purest form. We need not fear that, we should assume that . . . Of course grace will be abused. But grace is a powerful dynamic. Grace wins out in the end. It is not our responsibility to qualify it. It is our responsibility to proclaim it and model it.”  – Andy Stanley, The Grace of God 

Printable memory verse card for your wallet, bathroom mirror, fridge, computer monitor, or favorite place to put things (right click the image below to save for printing)

John 1:16 printable memory verse card

Image by Stephanie Oh.

7 comments

  1. LOVE the art pic! Did you do that Steph??
    Grace. I’ve spent a lot of time discussing grace vs works among people that are of other religions. The whole not adding to or taking away, I get it completely. Yet in my own life I’m not sure I live it out all the time. What’s in my head doesn’t always translate to my heart. Grace for myself, or people in my life that are repetitively negative in their behavior towards me. Mix a bunch of messed up hormones and struggling to stay close to God in the midst of those hormones, haha, and grace is harder to dish out or accept. I’ve struggled hard core in the past with perfectionism/legalism, pretty much my whole life. If I do this…. then I’m acceptable. God broke all that down and taught me His sweet gospel of grace. But after reading this I can see the areas I still need to hand over to God and through His Spirit dish out some grace. Great post:)

    Like

    1. Thanks so much! I’m having way too much fun playing with my new watercolor brushes this week. Love the verse Kim picked, too!

      Like

    2. I think the grace vs. works thing is the hardest for us humans to understand. Even when we think we get it, there’s still so much to grace to discover. I’ve totally been in the perfectionism / legalism struggle… it sneaks up on you! And YES girl! I hear you on the mixed up hormones. 😉 Definitely doesn’t make it easier… which is why I guess we have grace. Always comes full circle. LOVE your insights here! XOXO.

      Like

  2. I love the quote here by Andy Stanley. The Grace Life is still new to me–until 4 or 5 years ago, I didn’t even know what Grace was. I lived in shame, trying desperately to make up for who I was (and who I wasn’t). And coming from that place, I know without a doubt that a life without Grace, it’s not a life at all. It’s a kind of walking death that I wouldn’t wish on anyone. But I’ve felt it strong these last few years, the push-back from those who “are afraid people will abuse grace.” And that fear drives them to discount Grace at every turn, to shame those who dare to proclaim the Grace doctrine. I love what Andy Stanley says here, that it’s not our job to qualify grace but to proclaim it and let grace do it’s work. Because, as Lewis Smedes says, “Grace is shorthand for God.” When we proclaim grace, we proclaim God. And it’s not our job to make sure people respond appropriately to God–He’s plenty capable of confronting every person with the reality of Who He Is!

    Like

    1. Courtney, I know exactly what you mean and I think every person who walks the earth tries at some point to “earn” their way instead of living by grace. I love what you say about it not being our job to make sure people respond appropriately to God, it’s just our job to proclaim it and model grace. Sometimes we have a hard time of letting Jesus be Jesus in others’ lives.

      Like

Join the Conversation

