Dose of hope: Galatians 5:1

Galatians 5:1 - It is for freedom that Christ set us free. Stand firm, then, and do not let yourselves be burdened again by a yoke of slavery. #dosesofhope (printable memory verse card at the link!)

My church has been doing a series on freedom, and Galatians 5 keeps coming up. This is a verse that I’ve liked for a while, but I never had it memorized to be able to point to it in the Bible. After this series my church is doing, I think it’s one I won’t forget.

Christ has set us free. The cross was for our freedom. And I love that we’re urged not to forget that and accidentally wander back into a yoke of slavery – to our sins, to human standards of success, to anxiety and fear, to anything outside of those good things God has for us.

To print the memory verse card right click and save the image below.

Galations 5:1 printable memory verse card

Original photo of Walking On The Beach by Amateur Pic. Adapted by Stephanie Oh.

4 comments

  1. I love this verse–first because it spells it out loud and clear that we are FREE, that Christ has set us free and we are intended to live free. But also this verse reminds me that it’s not just me who falls into slavery again, who forgets she is free, who forgets how to live free. Paul wrote this to a church (and ultimately to all believers) because they, too, needed to remember that they were free. And if we are to really live the free life Christ died to give us, there’s gotta be a whole lot of standing firm. Or, in my case, a whole lot of throwing off the yoke of slavery again and again and choosing to step out in freedom one more time.

    And Shane and Shane’s song “Liberty” is running through my head again: ” For freedom you set me free, and yes I am free indeed. You rewrote my name, unshackled my shame–you opened my eyes to see I am free.” http://youtu.be/MipmxHPbZF8

    Yes, Lord, open our eyes to see that we are FREE!

    Like

    1. Courtney, agreed! This is an again and again thing for me, too. I think grace is so big for us humans to understand that we’re constantly going back to slavery. Psalm 62:1-2 is helping me keep that in perspective – my soul finds rest in God alone and He alone is my rock (source of security) and salvation (thing that saves me). I’m reminding myself everyday now.

      I’m totally going to listen to that Shane and Shane song. Thanks for sharing!

      Sent from my iPhone

      Like

Join the Conversation

