The Hiding Place

The Hiding Place by Corrie Ten Boom | wearegospelgirls.com

The last weeks have been crazy. First the hubster and I traveled to Canada for our friends’ wedding. Then we followed it with an impromptu trip to the Hudson River Valley to live out my dreams of living off the land.

By the time we got home from all of that traveling I was dying to just sit on the couch and read a book. Normally I have a stack of them ready to go, but ever since I finished Jesus Is _____. by Judah Smith I’d been trying to figure out what to read next.

I wanted something that read more like a novel than a non-fiction book, but I also have a serious thing for true stories over fiction. Then I remembered The Hiding Place by Corrie Ten Boom. Somehow this book is literally the only thing to follow me from childhood to adulthood, and since I couldn’t remember a thing about it something told me this was a good time to re-read it.

It’s a pretty well known book, but for those who haven’t read it (or have bad memories like me) The Hiding Place is the true story of the Ten Boom family before, during, and after World War II. Their faith compelled them to hide Jewish people from the Nazi soldiers occupying Holland, and ultimately the family was arrested and sent to a concentration camp for their crimes.

I can’t even put into words the horrific events that Corrie describes, and I won’t cheapen the magnitude of the story by trying to. But let me just tell you, in spite of all the waterworks that came along with reading it, I can confidently say it’s one of my favorite books of all time. I have been gushing about it non-stop since the day I picked it up.

The Ten Boom family went through things I never want to, even before the war began, and through it all their faith was strengthened. When the Germans occupied Holland at the start of the war, they found themselves wrestling with how to live out faith and love in a world taken over by evil.

And the rest of their story models that in a way that has changed my entire outlook on life in just one week’s time.

Corrie shares how God used her past to prepare her for what she would experience, how He equipped her to do things that were beyond her power, how He provided for her every step of the way, and how He taught her to love even as she hated the places she was imprisoned and the things going on around her.

People have said that The Hiding Place is a story that’s relevant to our present, too, and I couldn’t agree more. When I saw several copies on the shelf at Barnes and Noble for only $7.99 I grabbed them to give to friends. This book is a seriously powerful story that shares what life looks like in the Kingdom of God versus this world, and I’m so thankful she shared it with us.

p.s. more good stuff…

This audio recording of Corrie Ten Boom’s testimony is so good. Listen here.

14 comments

  1. This book is a part of my childhood too (along with some of those bad memories, along with the inspiration). I find myself still thinking about it sometimes, and marveling. The things that God does, both in the midst of horror, and the midst of joy. It is difficult not to stand in awe.
    Thanks for sharing, Kim, this book needs some current airtime!

    Like

    1. Yes, I’d forgotten pretty much everything I read the first time, but this time I think it’s going to have a life-long impact on me. I’m hoping to read her other books soon. 🙂

      Like

  2. I love that book because it showed me how much a person can go through and how able God is able to strengthen a person in any circumstance. I loved how powerfully God was involved in her life in her years of ministry. I have read Tramp for The Lord too, so I can’t remember what book it all comes from since its been a while. But I loved her dependence in God and how He showed up in her later years due to that faith, even allowing her to see the angel protecting the bibles she was carrying. I want that kind of intimate relationship/dependence. It’s probably time for me to reread it.:)

    Like

  3. Corrie Ten Boom was a small woman of great courage! Her books are amazing and her faith inspirational. Thanks for the reminder of this powerful witness.

    Like

    1. That’s so funny. I wonder if we had two of them. The copy I just read is falling apart at the seams, but I love it that way. It felt nice and worn in. Definitely read it again, mom! You’ll love it again.

      Like

  4. I love that book! I’ve read it and reread it a couple times, but it’s been a few years now and this is a great reminder to pick it up again!

    Like

  5. I read this when I was growing up, too, but like you, I really don’t remember much of the story. I remember loving the book at the time, because even then I knew far more about suffering than I should have. But I think I was too young to really do anything but survive the awful things–and this book is one of the many that helped me do that. I wonder if reading it now I might be able to glean more than just the strength/encouragement to survive but also the inspiration and hope to build a better life in the midst of suffering. I’m going to see if it’s on the shelf in the church library…thanks for the recommendation!

    Like

    1. Courtney, that’s so cool you have a church library! I would be in heaven on earth. If they don’t have it I *might* have a copy to send your way. I got soo much out of it as an adult.

      Sent from my iPhone

      Like

Join the Conversation

