Why Being More than Conquerors Doesn’t Mean We Won’t Have Hard Times

a blog post on why being "more than conquerors" doesn't mean we won't have hard times {wearegospelgirls.com}

Hi, guys! How was your Memorial Day weekend? Did you do anything fun? I had a blast. Like seriously, it was one of the best weekends I’ve had in years. And you know what? Something major happened. I think I’m starting to understand grace.

Yes, I am part of a blog named “gospel girls,” and I’m just now starting to grasp the awesomeness of grace. It’s been so awesome that I’m kinda on a grace high, and I don’t want to come down. So here’s what I’m thinking… I’m going to talk it out with all of you (because clearly that’s what I do) and just like lap up all this new understanding of grace like it’s chocolate. Because it’s even better than that. And thank you all for being a part of this conversation. I seriously love every single comment and email and Facebook message you send.

So here’s something I was thinking about last week. The Bible tells us we’re more than conquerors. We are co-heirs with Christ. And I believe every word, but I think – again – it’s taken this grace awakening to really get it.

First off, here’s the big part I’m excited about: we’re free. Did you know that? I mean, I knew that, but seriously I think somewhere along the past two years I stopped knowing that. Or at least my thoughts, feelings, and actions stopped reflecting that. I honestly don’t know if I truly felt free. I didn’t like that feeling. And I don’t want anyone else to feel that way either.

So freedom. That’s the most exciting part. Because no matter what the world throws at us now we’re already free. That’s helping me work through the next part – that being more than a conqueror doesn’t mean we don’t have wounds. And it doesn’t mean we won’t have hard time after hard time. It just means that these wounds and hard times won’t defeat us.

Here’s why I think we’re told we’re more than conquerors: Once we know we’re free, I mean really know it, our hope is no longer diminished by the crummy things that happen. Because our hope is no longer in what this world has to offer. It’s in Christ and what He’s already done. It’s in the home He’s created for us that doesn’t inflict any wounds or have any hard times in store. And it’s in His love that is just so big we can’t even comprehend it. Even when we mess up and even as hard things happen.

Who shall separate us from the love of Christ? Shall trouble or hardship or persecution or famine or nakedness or danger or sword? As it is written:

“For your sake we face death all day long;
we are considered as sheep to be slaughtered.”

No, in all these things we are more than conquerors through him who loved us. For I am convinced that neither death nor life, neither angels nor demons, neither the present nor the future, nor any powers, neither height nor depth, nor anything else in all creation, will be able to separate us from the love of God that is in Christ Jesus our Lord.

– Romans 8:35-38 (NIV)

Even if our health fails. Even if our boss fires us. Even if half the people we meet think we’re weird and we’re not sure why. When hard time after hard time after hard time hits or when things just aren’t what we expected or imagined. We’re more than conquerors. Because we’re already free.

Now that I’m starting to get that, I’m like “Oh, why did I ever forget that? Why did I ever stop living like I’m free?” We’re more than conquerors. We’re free, because of what Jesus did.

What about you guys? Do you have any thoughts? Anything to share about grace now that I’m on this grace-high? 

XO,
Kim

P.S. More good stuff here:

My hubster is a huge Charles Stanley fan. He just sent me this link to a ton of articles by Charles Stanley on adversity. Check it out!

Original photo by earl53 from morguefile.com. All cropping, text, and embellishments added by Stephanie Oh.

10 comments

  1. Love this! I totally get what you are saying. When I really grasp that I’m free, and all God has done for me, the things that usually weigh me down seem like nothing. It’s living on that higher plain, eternity focused and bound, that fills me with such joy and freedom. I actually was just sharing one of my fav verses with someone this morning that goes along with all this. I have had Isaiah 43:1-3 taped up on my supplement cabinet for years. It looks like this:
    Fear not Krystle, for I have redeemed you; I have summoned you by name; you are Mine.
    When you pass through the rivers they will not sweep over you; and when you pass through the waters, I will be with you. When you walk through the fire, you will not be burned; the flames will not set you ablaze. For I Am The Lord, your God, the Holy One of Israel, your Savior.
    It reminds me so powerfully that whatever I go through does not have to consume me. That I can live above it, with Him, in victory. How amazing is that!!! Love it.
    Thanks for sharing. Love how God uses others to get the fire burning more and more inside of me. Exactly what I had prayed for this morning:)

    Like

    1. Krystle, YES! When I hit publish I was like “is this going to resonate with anyone else?” but I just know I’m finally grasping that truth (again) for the first time in a looong time. I LOVE the verse you have taped to your supplement cabinet and that you put your name in it. So much truth and power in knowing His promises are for us. And yes – we can live above it! I’m so psyched about that truth. We are literally free! I know that sometimes we’ll still mourn or want the bad things to pass, but we can also know that Jesus has done it all and these things are not forever. We don’t have to be consumed. We are free. Thanks so much for sharing that!

      Like

  2. So much good stuff here….I don’t know where to begin! That’s a good thing, in case you are wondering :).

    First of all, I’m going to say it straight out that most days I feel, um, slightly *less* than a conqueror. Actually more like a failure. But it’s right there in the Word of God. We are more than conquerors. So it must be true and, oh, how I long to really *live* that truth! In reading this passage in Romans, I’m struck by this: Paul says we are more than conquerors *in all these things.* In trouble, in hardship, in persecution, in famine, in nakedness, in danger, in sword. Often times it’s just the simple fact of struggling through *those things* that makes me feel like a failure, like clearly I got on the wrong path somewhere. But here Paul’s saying that it isn’t true, that we’re conquerors *when* were in the midst of all *those things*. Oh, what good news!

    And then there’s this: What makes us conquerors is the fact that we can’t be separated from God’s love. It reminds me of what God was teaching me early last year about 1 Corinthians 13, the love chapter. Because when Paul’s saying that without love, we have nothing and we are nothing, he’s also saying this: With God’s love, we have everything we need and we are everything we’re meant to be. And now when I bring that back around to this passage in Romans, I see that when we have God’s love–and we do, because nothing can separate us from it–we are more than conquerors. Hallelujah!

    In spite of this already being a super long comment, I can’t *not* leave you with one of my favorite quotes about grace, from Lewis Smedes in his book called Shame and Grace: “Grace is the beginning of our healing because it offers the one thing we need most: To be accepted without regard to whether we are acceptable. Grace stands for gift; it is the gift of being accepted before we become acceptable. Grace is shorthand for God.”

    Thanks for sharing and stirring up all kinds of pondering in my heart today!

    Like

    1. Courtney, you just added so much to this with your thoughts on the Scripture! Thanks for sharing all of these insights. I totally hear you. I definitely don’t feel like a conqueror when I’m going through hard times. That’s why I was so excited when it all “clicked” so to speak. I LOVE that quote and totally want to read that book now! Hugs!

      Like

      1. Yes, the book is a must read! Saved my life. Literally. Can’t wait to hug Mr. Smedes neck in heaven one day and tell him how his faithfulness to God’s call gave me a chance at a life I never imagined possible. A life where I’m no longer covered in shame but set free and kept free in Grace.

        Like

  3. So glad I stopped in today….as always I am filled by your words and insights. This really speaks to me…defining being conquerers and what Paul means here….need to study this more. I often speak Gal. 5:1 aloud…..It is for freedom that Christ set us free….so…….not sure i totally grasp the freedom concept yet, but more and more I am finding rest for my soul in these words….hugs and tank you!

    Like

    1. Renee, I think as soon as I grasp it I start to struggle with it again, but Jesus keeps bringing me back to grace. I just looked up Gal 5:1 last weekend, and am going to use it as a memory verse soon. So much wealth in that one line! And grace is so much about rest – I’m finalllllly getting it that perfectionist me doesn’t need to be a perfectionist! Ha… my life-long lesson. I’ve been thinking about you so much lately and how God is sharing much needed rest with us. Hugs to you! 🙂

      Like

  4. This is so great! It’d be a huge improvement for me to start acting like *a conquerer,* much less living as if I know I’m *more than.* Amazing how you’re not REALLY free until you start living/acting/believing it. Like staying in a tiny cage when the door’s been opened for you.

    Like

Join the Conversation

