Becoming Scripture Samurais

a blog post about becoming scripture samurais (aka let's study the word!) {wearegospelgirls.com}

For the word of God is alive and active. Sharper than any double-edged sword, it penetrates even to dividing soul and spirit, joints and marrow; it judges the thoughts and attitudes of the heart. – Hebrews 4:12 (NIV)

You guys, this is a real conversation that happened. Last week Steph and I were talking on the phone about Doses of Hope and how we could make them more than just a weekend post on this here blog. When she and I both lived in NYC, we went to a church that passed out “memory verse” cards every week. Basically they were the size of a business card, and they were awesome for carrying in your purse or wallet, sticking to your bathroom mirror, or taping to your dashboard. Not that many NYers have cars, but I’m just saying.

So anyway, I said, “We should make memory verse cards so we can start memorizing a verse a week again, and anyone else who wants to join can, too. We’ll be like Scripture ninjas.” (I don’t know why I said that, but I did.)

Then this is what she said, and I’m not even kidding: “Ok, so…. Ninjas = covert spies, saboteurs, assassins. Samurais = honorable.” Then she told me how it was perfect, because Samurais use swords and it could be like the sword of the Spirit and all. I had no idea she was an expert in these things, but it basically made me want to high five her from 300 miles away.

Now back to the memory verse cards. I like to fill up with Scripture. It keeps my mind on the thoughts and promises of God, helps me learn more about Him everyday, and generally just helps me draw close to Him. And I’m less likely to snap at the person grinding up against me in the crowded subway train if I remember the whole point of life in the first place.

So after talking about making Doses of Hope something that we (and others) could use to memorize Scripture, Steph had another thought – we can explore verses by theme! Love that!

I thought about starting with verses on healing, or on waiting for our dreams, but I actually want to start with verses on prayer. Because prayer is the foundation for our relationship with God. It’s the thing we can’t really talk about healing or dreams or other exciting things without. And honestly it’s the most exciting part of our walk with Christ, because through Him we can boldly approach God and have a one-on-one, intimate, totally cool relationship with. We can share every single thing we think and feel, and not just that – we can hear directly from Him, too.

So our next couple Doses of Hope will focus on verses about prayer, and we’ll be offering up a business card-sized memory verse with the same scripture for those of us that want to print them out to memorize. I can’t thank you enough for being here, reading with us, joining the conversation, and pinning the doses of hope. We really hope you find the Scripture memory verse cards helpful if it’s something you’re interested in!

Join the Conversation

