This Week’s Dose of Hope: Our Help Comes from the Lord

my help comes from the Lord {weekly dose of hope at wearegospelgirls.com}

I shared with you guys last week that the Psalms have been speaking to me like woah, and this week’s dose of hope comes from another Psalm that I love, which is just incredible from beginning to end. Usually when I think of the opening lines of the Psalm (“I lift my eyes up to the hills. Where does my help come from? My help comes from the Lord…”) I sing it to the tune of Casting Crown’s “Praise You in This Storm,” which quotes the verse toward the end. I don’t know about you guys, but whenever I hear Scripture set to music I’m ten times more likely to remember the verse.

 

I hope you’re all having a good weekend. It’s rainy in New York City, but at least the rain is bringing warmer temperatures. God bless!

XO,
Kim

p.s. you can find all of our doses of hope on Pinterest!

Picture of Burning Candles In The Dark by Petr Kratochvil

6 comments

  1. The Psalms have been my resting place for long months–even when I am too tired to read before bed, I’ll just lay my head down on my Bible open to the Psalms and breathe deep. There is so much comfort and hope there and I am so very grateful for that. Psalm 121 is one of the Psalms of Ascent, and although I haven’t made it very far in my study of them (by Beth Moore), I did get through Psalm 121 a while back (as in, 18 months back!). If you’d like to read my personal version of the Psalm, it’s on the blog here: http://www.growingisbeautiful.com/2011/11/when-you-want-to-make-words-your-own.html

    PS–I finally was able to dig my NLT Bible out of storage so I’m excited to read more in that translation. Thanks for inspiring me to search it out again!

    Like

    1. Courtney, I’ll definitely check your version out! Yes, the Psalms are sooo good before bed. So much wealth there. I got hooked on NLT when my last church referenced it a lot. I’m looking forward to digging into other translations in the future. 🙂 Glad we can encourage each other!

      Sent from my iPhone

      Like

Join the Conversation

