Recipe Review: Baked Potato Soup

potato soup recipe review {gospel girls}

This week the hubster and I tried a new recipe that I found on Pinterest: Crock Pot Loaded Baked Potato Soup by Hannah Holzmann. We bought a crock pot a couple months ago, and I can hands down say that it has been one of the best things we’ve ever done for our marriage. And our stomachs. And our week nights. And almost every area of our lives.

We love throwing a bunch of uncooked ingredients into a giant pot, plugging it in, and waking up to the smells of an amazing meal simmering away in the kitchen while we slept. (Though yes, I might be neurotic enough to put a fire alarm nearby, because the thought of anything safely cooking while I’m sleeping still seems too good to be true.)

This is a great one for anyone who is gluten-free, sugar-free, yeast-free, or who just loves potatoes. I fall into all of those camps, and so I literally jumped at the chance to try this out.

You can find the original recipe here. We mostly followed Hannah’s instructions with only a few small changes to suit my husband’s tastes.

Here’s what I used:

  • 5lb bag of organic russet potatoes from Trader Joes
  • 2 boxes of organic chicken broth from Trader Joes
  • 5 tsps of minced garlic
  • 1 packet of cream cheese

The original recipe says that you can dice the potatoes without peeling them, but I peeled them for the hubster, because he likes them better that way. Then I tossed them into the crockpot with the chicken broth and garlic and set it to cook on low for eight hours overnight. We left the crock pot sealed but unplugged during the workday, and the food was still nice and hot when we came home. We then quartered a packet of cream cheese (the original recipe calls for two packets, but one made it creamy enough for us) and mixed it up in batches in the blender. My husband chopped up some chicken sausage to mix in, I brought it to a simmer again on the stove, sprinkled salt, pepper, and green onions on top, and we were ready to go.

Overall, we loved this recipe! It made enough to feed the two of us for several nights in a row and is super easy to reheat on the stove for a quick dinner. The only thing I would recommend doing differently is making the soup on a Saturday morning instead of a weeknight, so that all the steps (cook, blend, transfer to a stock pot) could be done in one day without any big clean up after work.

Steph and I are collecting recipes we tried and love on this Pinterest board so that we can easily share them with each other and our friends. This one definitely makes the cut. I hope you enjoy it!

Join the Conversation

