What Divine Discontent Has to Do With God-Sized Dreams

Why I'm inspired by Dan Miller's article on Divine Discontent

The other day Steph shared an article with me about divine discontent – what Dan Miller describes as “feeling  misplaced, off-track, or that [we] are not making a difference.” She related this to a big ol’ breaking point in her life when she realized that her career wasn’t lining up with her faith. And I’m not going to lie to you all, that post unleashed something in me that has been boiling under the surface for far too long: my own serious, way too ignored case of divine discontent.

Where does divine discontent start? I think for lots of us, it’s that unsettled feeling that something is just not right. That what we’re living isn’t jiving with what we believe or what the Holy Spirit is whispering in the deepest place of “our knower” as Annie Downs once said on her blog.

Steph shared another link on our Facebook page recently that goes right along with this – Cara Sexton’s amazing piece On Hoarding Manna – that I wanted to share with you guys again right here.

I’ve believed the lie that my happiness, my comfort, is more important than obedience. I’ve believed that I can have a foot in both worlds—that I can sponsor a child or two and hand the homeless guy a burrito and I’ve done my duty. But I hold my wallet close. My children and my cell phone and my apartment with a thermostat that works, because I don’t really want to give it all to Jesus. I don’t really want to lay down and die, even if that’s precisely what I signed up for when I asked Him to make me His.- Cara Sexton, On Hoarding Manna

So here’s my question:

Can we all have a conversation about divine discontent? About what it means to be a Christian, as my church asked recently in an incredible message?

Because I want to push that feeling down even further and pretend that everything is a-ok and that believing is the same thing as doing, but if I’m honest with myself and God and you, there’s a lot of me that’s still waiting to burst out of the seams and be the disciple I so desire to be, and there’s another big side of me that has a lot to learn about surrender and selflessness and denying myself.

Then he (Jesus) said to the crowd, “If any of you wants to be my follower, you must turn from your selfish ways, take up your cross daily, and follow me. – Luke 9:23 (NLT)

What about you guys? I know to some of us this isn’t the shiniest, prettiest conversation, but I love what Steph said to me in our latest conversation about it. Divine discontent is just a sign that there’s something more – that God has something better planned for us and that there’s a God-sized dream in us and it’s dying to come out.

Can you relate to this feeling of divine discontent? Of having a God-sized dream that’s dying to come out or of desiring to live God’s best instead of a compromise?

XO,
Kim

Linking up with Sarah’s What He’s Done Wednesdays and Ann’s Walk with Him Wednesdays






12 comments

  1. Even when I spend so much of my life in my home, on a healing journey, I feel some divine discontent…….asking God what His plan is for me t.o.d.a.y. In the midst of sickness. Not feeling that this is all there is for me………knowing there is more…..not WORKS, but obedience while resting in His plan.

    Like

    1. Renee – Yes! I love that about it not being about works but obedience. That’s exactly how I’m feeling. I don’t think we all have to quit our jobs or launch a ginormous not for profit, but I do have to ask myself am I being obedient? Am I really listening to everything He’s prompting me to do and am I doing it? In my case I can definitely say no, I’ve been way too scared to do some of the things God is prompting me to do. I’m so thankful for your encouragement and example along the way. 🙂

      > Date: Wed, 10 Apr 2013 17:52:28 +0000 > To: wearegospelgirls@outlook.com >

      Like

  2. I have a burning passion to work with homeless. Currently I am one day a week through my church, but would love to have a job that would allow me to somehow receive an income to support us. God’s will, God’s time, God’s way!

    Like

  3. Love this post and it’s very timely for me. I have felt a real discontent lately and have really been trying to seek the Lord’s direction for what He wants me to do. I have my God-sized dream, but probably as most of us I sit and talk myself out of it, thinking it’s too big of a dream. Guess it’s just time to step into and He will direct my steps one way or the other.
    Wandered over from A Holy Experience. Love your blog!

    Like

    1. Amy, you just summed up the last 30 years of my life talking myself out of God-sized dreams. Leaning into it will probably be one of the scariest but also rewarding things we can do! Thankful that there are others like Holley Gerth and her dream teamers to encourage us along the way! Thanks for stopping by!

      Sent from my iPhone

      Like

  4. I love this post so much. I’ve never heard an official term for it, but every few months or so I get an itch for something more – because I get so sick of being so comfortable. I want to do something uncomfortable, something hurts, that makes a difference. I love the term “divine discontentment.” Off to read the first post about it!

    Like

    1. Isn’t it a great term? I’ve had that “itch” for so long, but I find myself caught between that feeling and fear of “losing it all” if I actually step out to do the things I dream of doing to make a difference. It’s so silly. Thanks for visiting and for sharing! 🙂

      Like

  5. fantastic post! our housegroup have been looking at this and setting spiritual goals – with a HOW and a WHEN attached to them… often we can be vauge in our holy discontent – i want to know God more, God stir my heart towards you, i should/could read my bible more (a good should/could!) and we forget to put actions on our desires… i reckon if we chose every day to live like that then we’ll be ignited afresh!

    Like

Join the Conversation

