When We’re Not Feeling Mighty Enough

On Sunday the hubby and I did church from home and watched a Greg Laurie message called A Lot with a Little.

You guys… I was slightly sad about missing our real live church on Sunday, but this message met me right where I was with right what I needed to hear and I’m certain there was God in it.

To make a long story short, Greg Laurie talked about Gideon, a hero in Judges 6. One of the biggest parts of the story is that Gideon was an unlikely hero. In fact, he was pretty much the least likely person anyone would think of to assist in saving his people. And yet God addressed him as “mighty warrior” and chose him save Israel from oppression.

At the time this would have been downright crazy. Gideon was the youngest son of the smallest tribe of Israel, so the idea of him leading anyone in anything would have seemed impossible to everyone he knew. Even Gideon questioned if God really knew what He was doing and who He was asking, and he had the audacity to ask God to show him for sure that it really was God calling and not his own imagination. And because I’m a sucker for hope and God being able to do the impossible even with the least of us, I loved it.

But here’s the greater part of what I took from this message, and that is that like in every area of life, it’s really not about us. In other words, God doesn’t need us to be good enough, because He is enough. And if we’re to believe what we see God do in the lives of Gideon, Moses, David, and others in the Bible it’s that God’s calling is truly His enabling.

When He puts a thing in us, He intends to see it through. If we’ll let Him.

Greg Laurie cited this verse in his message:

Brothers and sisters, think of what you were when you were called. Not many of you were wise by human standards; not many were influential; not many were of noble birth. But God chose the foolish things of the world to shame the wise; God chose the weak things of the world to shame the strong. God chose the lowly things of this world and the despised things—and the things that are not—to nullify the things that are, so that no one may boast before him. It is because of him that you are in Christ Jesus, who has become for us wisdom from God—that is, our righteousness, holiness and redemption. Therefore, as it is written: “Let the one who boasts boast in the Lord.” – 1 Corinthians 1:26-31 (NIV)

Doesn’t that say a lot about each of us?

When Jesus first called me back to Him, I was hardly the spitting image of “good enough.” If anything, I was one big mistake after another. And yet He wanted me. And the same goes for each of us that He calls.

So why then is it so easy now to think that we must push ourselves harder to earn His further blessings and grace? Why is it so easy to believe that now that we’re saved, we must work on being good enough for the good plans He has in store?

Isn’t it crazy sometimes, how God can take little messages and moments of understanding, and weave them into a big fabric of something He’s doing and saying in our lives?

That’s what’s happening now, with this year of seeking stillness and finding that stillness isn’t just about not doing. It’s about making room for Him to be the do-er. And finding that when we’re still, we discover that we are good enough for Christ just as we are and that He is big enough to do anything that needs done.

This week’s dose of hope alert!

…for I know the one in whom I trust, and I am sure that he is able… – 2 Timothy 1:12 (NLT)

The other part of the story of Gideon that really hit close to home is that God called him to do something and he did it. Yes, at first with a bit of skepticism and then secretly and only after he’d been assured two more times did he follow God’s calling bravely and boldly. But he did it. He said yes.

I totally admire this kind of faith. For years, I’ve been scared to obey a stirring inside to get out there and do something because I haven’t been able to shake the feeling that I’m just not good enough. The chips aren’t lined up yet. Yes, there is an element to doing our part anytime God calls. But it’s not really about us, is it? Because if He puts a feeling inside us that we just can’t shake, if He puts a calling on our lives to make this world a better place (whether it’s a super small thing or something that feels big to us) He’ll be the one to fulfill it. Our job is not to be good enough and not to line up the chips. It’s to move forward in faith, fully relying on Him to fulfill it.

Again, God doesn’t need us to be good enough, because He is enough. It brings Him glory to take the least likely of us and use us as instruments of His grace, truth, and peace.

After listening to this message, I couldn’t help but wonder. Maybe God tells us to be still and know that He is God not just to sit in His presence, not just to surrender our circumstances to Him and to let Him move, but maybe also because He wants to do something through us, and we have to get out of our own way for Him to do it.

Once we stop focusing on our own abilities or limitations, we can focus on the movement of the Spirit and allow Him to do things in our lives that would be impossible otherwise.

For God has not given us a spirit of fear and timidity, but of power, love, and self-discipline. – 2 Timothy 1:7 (NLT)

You can read the whole story of Gideon in Judges 6 and 7 here.

I’m linking up with Sarah for What He’s Done Wednesday (a day late to the party but happy to be there) and with Bonnie for Faith Jam Thursdays.


Looks like God is talking to a lot of us about being instruments in His hands, even when we don’t feel good enough. Emily’s One Thing We’re Waiting For (And Why It’s Time to Stop) and Bonnie’s What Fried Rice Taught Me About Brokenness and New Year’s Resolutions are both tugging at my heart this week.

18 comments

    1. Amy, I just ready your One Word for the year… what a great word. “Trust” was my word 2 years ago, and it changed my life even if I’m still learning. I have a good friend also adopting that word this year. 🙂

      Like

  1. I love this thought…..”Once we stop focusing on our own abilities or limitations, we can focus on the movement of the Spirit and allow Him to do things in our lives that would be impossible otherwise.” Amen, to that!

    Like

  2. stillness isn’t just about not doing. It’s about making room for Him to be the do-er. And finding that when we’re still, we discover that we are good enough for Christ just as we are and that He is big enough to do anything that needs done.

    Once we stop focusing on our own abilities or limitations, we can focus on the movement of the Spirit and allow Him to do things in our lives that would be impossible otherwise.

    a lot that I needed to hear today…thank you for writing this.

    Like

    1. Thanks for visiting! I don’t even think I can take the credit for writing this, since so much of it is what I needed to hear, too. Thankfully God is patiently teaching me. I read your post earlier and really enjoyed it. I have a firewall that won’t let me comment on blogger, but I’m going to stop by again tonight. 🙂

      On Thu, Jan 31, 2013 at 3:48 PM, Steph and Kim

      Like

  3. “But God chose the foolish things of the world to shame the wise; God chose the weak things of the world to shame the strong. God chose the lowly things of this world…” Wow, if that’s the case He must have BIG plans for me! Such an encouraging word, as always Kim! I tell you God has sure used your blog to speak to me this week. Know that he is ministering through you in ways you may not ever know. (and ways you do know because I keep telling you! 🙂 ) And YAY!!!!!! Thanks for linking up with me. Small party but still tons of fun. Hoping more will join us next week so we can hear all about What God Is Doing in their lives.

    Like

  4. I love this post! Yes, you are right: …the least likely of us and use us as instruments of His grace, truth, and peace. Throughout Scripture, we see how God uses folks that are marginal in their communities and surroundings. If we can remember that our walk is about Him and not us, we will be better able to walk with our eyes open to the Wondrous Light. Blessings!

    P.S. Found you over at Faith Barista.

    Like

  5. “God doesn’t need us to be good enough, because He is enough” words I hang to when I’m not feeling enough.
    The story of Gideon is one of my favorites too!

    Like

Join the Conversation

