This Week’s Dose of Hope: Isaiah 46:4 (Carrying Us Along)

Two years ago, I chose “trust” as my One Word of the year, and God answered with “hope.” He showed me that if we trust in Him, we can live with hope. I was addicted. For the first time in my then-28 years of life, I had real, true, foundational hope. I wanted to pass it out to everyone I knew.

Later that year I read Psalm 130:5, and it unlocked a serious truth. We can trust the promises in His Word. We can put our hope and expectation in what He says. He’s not going to let us down.

I wait for the Lord, I expectantly wait, and in His word do I hope. – Psalm 130:5 (AMP)

I’m learning to find those doses of hope in my quiet time again. This one in particular spoke to me about how we can be still and trust that He is God-enough to care for us, protect us, and bring His plans for our lives to fruition.

I will be your God throughout your lifetime – until your hair is white with age.
I made you, and I will care for you. I will carry you along and save you.
– Isaiah 46:4 (NLT)

After I read it, I broke it down line by line to ask what it means for me and all of us, and to find the promises inside that we can cling to even when our feelings or circumstances lead us to believe otherwise.

I will be your God throughout your lifetime – until your hair is white with age…

God will be with us always. Our whole lives. He’s not going to leave us.

I made you, and I will care for you…

He made us, and He really cares for us. We are good enough for Him just as we are, because He’s the one who made us.

I will carry you along…

God carries us along. He’s not asking us to work harder to make it. He’s not asking us to survive on our work at all! He’s carrying us. And He’s asking us to trust in His arms and rest in His embrace. Doing this sets us free to just live as He made us to live and to stop worrying.

and save you…

If anything bad does happen, if we do slip up as we’re going about our lives, He will save us. We have no reason to fear.

What about you guys? Do you hear anything in that verse that gives you hope? Is there something in particular this brings to mind? I love how God can show each of us something new in His Word, and how when I can hear others’ interpretations I get so much more out of it than I do on my own.

Join the Conversation

