Connecting the Dots with One Word

Just a couple days ago I told you my One Word for 2013 was “still.” When I made that choice, it seemed obvious. I’d been thinking about all of the ways we wait in life – wait for healing, for restoration, for financial peace, for dreams to come true – and someone had left a comment asking what we do while we wait.

That comment actually totally changed my life. As I prayed about it for a couple weeks, the words “be still” and “be intentional” came to my heart. Since being still seemed like the first step, it seemed pretty simple that “still” should be my word. I’d practice being still and not juggling so much in life and my year would instantly be more awesome. Why not?

Well I guess God had other plans. It seems like He actually wants to teach me something with these words. Don’t you love when He does that?

I noticed that whenever I choose a word, God likes to answer with another. In 2011 I chose “trust” and God answered with “hope.” Lots and lots of doses of hope followed, and I learned that hope and trust go hand in hand. When I trust Him, I’m filled with hope. When I hold on to that hope, I’m reminded I can trust Him.

In 2012 I chose “wisdom” and God answered with “enough.” As in, true wisdom lies in receiving the cross. Jesus died for us because we are enough. It’s done, we’re redeemed, and now we’re totally His.

It seems the same is going to go for this year. I know there is so much good that will come out of being still. But part of being still is remembering I’m enough. I don’t have to jam pack my day with more to make it worthwhile. I don’t always have to do more to feel like I’m accomplishing the things I want to do or feel called to do.

Maybe it goes right back to trust. I can trust that the abilities He’s given me are enough. What I lack, He more than possesses. What I can’t do on my own, He can more than do because of who He is.

For I can do everything through Christ,who gives me strength. – Philippians 4:13 (NLT)

I think being still is also about remembering that He is enough. Whatever I don’t have in life – whatever I’m waiting for or working for – pales in comparison to what I do have in Christ. It’s good to sit back and rest in that.

So you also are complete through your union with Christ, who is the head over every ruler and authority. – Colossians 2:10 (NLT)

For to me, living means living for Christ, and dying is even better. – Philippians 1:21 (NLT)

What about you guys? Are you choosing One Word to think about this year in place of resolutions? Anyone can do it, and you can find out more info here if you’re interested in choosing a word.

I’m linking up to the One Word 365 community and Bonnie Gray’s Faith Barista Jam, inspired by Renee at Adventures in Faithful Living!

11 comments

  1. Thanks Kim…you gave me some more insight into my word for the year “Be-Living” (not just believing and definitely not doing)…you could read my take on the Be Still idea on my blog in the Joy Jam link up…

    Best wishes on being still this year to see where God leads you!

    Like

  2. Being still definitely takes intentionality! May you be reminded of how abundantly enough God is as you take time to be still.

    My word? Healing.

    Like

Join the Conversation

