It’s Probably No Surprise

lots of lights - lets be still one word

Now that I’ve wrapped up 2012, I’m finally ready to jump into 2013. “Beginning of the year” is a relative term for me, kinda like “being on time” is a relative term. If I’m only a little late, it doesn’t count, right?

I told you guys that the big lesson I’m taking from last year is that I’m enough. It’s actually something I’m just now starting to turn over and over and really understand, so in a lot of ways it will probably be a big theme of this year, too. But while I’m tempted to make “enough” my One Word of 2013, there’s another word that’s ringing in my heart and that I want to pursue a little more.

It’s probably no surprise. That word is “still.” As in being still.

Be still, and know that I am God! …  – Psalm 46:10a (NLT)

My friend Tanya from Truth in Weakness wrote an amazing piece about Finding Christ in the Chaos on (in)courage. Her story pretty much sounds like my every day, except I don’t have children keeping me behind schedule. It’s just me, myself, and I that I’m trying to move out the door, and life has been moving at such a fast pace that my feet are moving at a slower and slower one.

I think my soul needs time to catch up with my body. (That’s a phrase I read in a book, and it’s been with me ever since.)

I also feel like my soul needs time to be still and be reminded that I’m enough by the One who says that about me.

For the Lord your God is living among you.
He is a mighty savior.
He will take delight in you with gladness.
With his love, he will calm all your fears.
He will rejoice over you with joyful songs.
– Zephaniah 3:17 (NLT)

And I’d like to be still to breathe, to write, to read, to dream, and just to be.

So I’m pretty sure both “enough” and “still” will form a lot of my 2013, and I’m pretty excited about that. I can only imagine what God has in store with these two simple words. Who knows… maybe He’ll unveil something I never even expected. Or maybe He’ll show me something about Himself that will totally change me from the inside out. Maybe He’ll do something new or bring light to areas that were previously covered in darkness. Or maybe He’ll just shower me with lots and lots of deep soul rest.

All I know is it’s going to be cool.

What about you guys? Do you have a word for 2013? If you had to think of a word off the top of your head, what would it be?

6 comments

Join the Conversation

