What We Do While We Wait

Hi friends. So a couple weeks ago, I was writing about waiting, and I was sharing things I learned about why we wait, the kinds of waiting I’ve done and why I get all abnormally excited about waiting with hope. (You guys know me. I believe any one of us who knows Jesus can live with hope all day long. And yes, you could say I’m hopelessly addicted to hope.)

One of the comments that week really stuck with me and got me to thinking about what we should do with ourselves while we wait. I realized I could fumble through a few ideas on what I think I should do with myself while I’m waiting, but when it came down to it, I really didn’t have a clue other than to hope.

But, seriously, while hope is essential, isn’t what we actually do with that hope just as essential?

Which means over the last few months I’ve found myself talking with God and asking for a lot more direction on something I should have asked about a long time ago. God has taught me so much through all this waiting talk, and apparently He is far from finished in teaching me. (Go figure!)

Long story short, the things that I am learning in my talks with our Lord have been blowing my mind. Blowing.My.Mind.

He gave me two pieces of direction:

1. Be still

2. Be intentional

It’s so simple, but how often do I make all of this waiting, this learning, this growing in my faith, and this following Jesus thing more complicated than it has to be?

Be still and be intentional.

Between you and me, I’m not good at either of these things.

I used to be good at these things when Jesus showed me the peace that comes from being still and the well ordered life that comes from being intentional. But then as I started feeling better I let little things slip until my life resembled a tornado more than still waters. On a side note, what does that say about me that I let that life in Christ – internally and externally – slip when things started going well? That is probably another thing we should discuss. 

So naturally, when I started praying about how to wait, our loving Father reiterated something I needed to know and broke it down into its simplest form: two little phrases I could easily remember. This comes as no surprise because it’s something He’s been telling me all along if I would just admit it to myself.

I’ve been really good at exploring this new direction from the Lord, making lists about it, drawing connections to Scripture, and documenting all of it in my journals (all my strong points). And now I feel like He’s asking me if I’m ready to start doing it.

By asking, I mean gently suggesting. And by gently suggesting, I mean tugging at my heart in a way I can’t ignore. If there’s one thing you should know about me, it’s that I require a pretty big push in the toosh to get moving most of the time.

So I’m going to sit with these two themes – being still and being intentional – on this here blog for a little bit and see where it takes us. I feel like God’s about to lead me through a big spiritual growth spurt in my life, and I’m pretty excited about where it’s leading.

As for all of you friends, I can’t tell you how much your emails, Facebook messages, and comments encourage me, humble me, and lead me to the Lord in prayer for His continued healing and in lots of praise when I see what He’s doing in all of us, even when I’m slow to respond. I hope you all had a good Thanksgiving!

Now all glory to God, who is able, through his mighty power at work within us, to accomplish infinitely more than we might ask or think. – Ephesians 3:20 (NLT)

8 comments

  1. wonderful post, kim. being still is so incredibly counter culture, so sadly devalued. and i’m a “doer” by nature, so the whole call to simply “be” is pretty much my life journey.

    thanks for sharing, & i’m excited to watch the Lord unfold His new plans for you!

    Like

    1. Tanya, I totally understand! I’ve had to go through a lot to learn more and more how to be still and I’m still learning it. I have a feeling it may be a big part of my life journey, too. I’m glad He’s patient with us. 🙂

      Sent from my iPhone

      Like

Join the Conversation

