Taking it to Heart

The last week and a half has been busy, busy, busy. The fiancé and I have been hoarding our free time like crazy to get things ready for the wedding. Can you believe we’re less than a month away? Last weekend we went down to Baltimore and Washington DC where we spent three days driving between the two cities, meeting vendors and signing contracts, spending time with Steph and her fiance, and attending his friends’ (now our friends’) wedding, which was seriously one of the most welcoming and beautiful weddings I’ve ever been to.

That means this week I’m spending my evenings hiding in my apartment making to do lists for my upcoming move (we clean and paint the fiance’s apartment this weekend) and gratefully catching up on my sleep.

I have a lot of things I want to share with you all, but in the meantime did anyone catch the She Reads Truth memory verse of the week? [I started reading along with She Reads Truth a couple weeks ago. I haven’t kept up with the devotionals everyday, but I love the memory verses of the week.] I just saw it today and it’s one that means a lot to me, because this promise literally carried me through years of illness. It is probably one of the very first verses I memorized when I just started learning the importance of storing God’s Word in my heart.

Each time he said, “My grace is all you need. My power works best in weakness.” So now I am glad to boast about my weaknesses, so that the power of Christ can work through me. – 2 Corinthians 12:9 (NLT)

I’m a big fan of taking God’s Word to heart, because the world tries to throw us so many negative and untrue messages. There is still so much of the Bible that I will be learning and relearning and seeing with new eyes until the day I die, and I know that I’m far from perfect. But learning verses this way helps me measure my own thoughts and feelings and the things I see and hear everyday against God’s truths to know what’s true, what’s false, and what promises I can stand firm on even when my feelings try to lead me another way.

I think having that kind of truth in our heats is one of the things David means when he talks about how God gives us a firm place to stand.

… He set my feet on a rock and gave me a firm place to stand. – Psalm 40:2b (NIV)

That’s also why I’m such a big fan of hope. Hope is literally woven throughout the Bible, and Jesus makes it clear over and over again that we can live with confidence and assurance in God’s unfailing love. In other words, we can stand on that firm foundation of hope.

Taking God’s Word to heart has taught me to center my mind on hope, even when circumstances don’t look hopeful. It’s taught me that even when I am weak, God is strong. And His love is always there to comfort, bless, and lead us to better times ahead.

Three things will last forever—faith, hope, and love—and the greatest of these is love. – 1 Corinthians 13:13 (NLT)

3 comments

  1. I love that….taking God’s word to heart. It is exactly how I feel, but would not have expressed it that way. I did that last week and traveled for the first time in 8 yrs to a family reunion and stayed away from home for the first time in 8 yrs except for a hospital stay! It was GREAT!~ So wonderful to see family again and be at our duaghter and SIL for first time.

    Like

    1. Renee, that is awesome! I went a few years without being able to travel too, and I remember how exciting my first trip from home was. It’s like having a new lease on life, right? So exciting to hear you had that experience and that all went well!!

      p.s. you’ve inspired me to look up grain free recipes! I found a few I can’t wait to make!

      Like

Join the Conversation

