She Reads Truth

SheReadsTruthYou guys, I have seen people chatting about She Reads Truth for a couple weeks now, and from day one I thought it was pretty cool. I just didn’t know what it was. Then Stephanie Bryant wrote about it on (in)courage, and I was like “oh, that’s what it is!”

It is a movement, by women, for women, to join together in reading God’s Word everyday. 

That’s it! It’s super simple, and I joined in on the fun yesterday and am LOVING it.

Basically, we all get in on the same devotional, which you can get for free from YouVersion either on their website or with their smartphone app, and we encourage each other along in community by sharing pictures on Instagram, Tweets, Facebook messages, and commenting

I hopped in during the Living the Surrendered Life devotional yesterday and fast forwarded to Day 13, which was so relevant I can’t even put it into words, except to quote the devotional:

It is more blessed to give than to receive, but if there is no refueling going on in our lives, there will be nothing there to give… If a person isn’t healthy, whole, and refreshed on a daily basis, it will spread over into his/her relationships.

Today was my second day, #shereadstruth Day #14, and I am totally convicted, moved, and motivated by the memory verse, which is actually one of my favorite verses.

Don’t use foul or abusive language. Let everything you say be good and helpful, so that your words will be an encouragement to those who hear them. – Ephesians 4:29 (NLT)

Or this translation:

Do not let any unwholesome talk come out of your mouths, but only what is helpful for building others up according to their needs, that it may benefit those who listen. – Ephesians 4:29 (NIV)

Which means, starting now I’m going to continue to try to be more and more intentional with how I refuel (so bad at this sometimes!) and with how I encourage and speak to others (because let’s be honest, not everything I say is encouraging or helpful).

The best part is that as I’m reading and journaling and thinking about the Word, I can talk to others who are doing the same thing, like my friend Karyn (who I Tweeted as soon as I was thinking about joining) and my sister, Steph (who is already calling me out when I need to take one of the devotionals to heart).

That’s it for now. I hope you’re all having a super blessed, beautiful Fourth of July!

3 comments

Join the Conversation

