Today’s Dose of Hope: Staying Fruitful and Flourishing

Every once in a while I adopt a verse and make it mine to love and carry around with me while it speaks all sorts of wisdom to my heart. This month Jeremiah 17:7-8 is the one.
But blessed are those who trust in the LORD and have made the LORD their hope and confidence. They are like trees planted along a riverbank, with roots that reach deep into the water. Such trees are not bothered by the heat or worried by long months of drought. Their leaves stay green, and they never stop producing fruit. (Jeremiah 17:7-8 NLT)
You know what’s crazy? Psalm 1 says the very same thing:
Oh, the joys of those who do not
follow the advice of the wicked,
or stand around with sinners,
or join in with mockers.
But they delight in the law of the Lord,
meditating on it day and night.
They are like trees planted along the riverbank,
bearing fruit each season.
Their leaves never wither,
and they prosper in all they do.
– Psalm 1:1-3 (NLT)
When I read that today, I was like “Touché, my Lord. You are clearly trying to tell me something.”

You know what else is crazy? I think it even goes hand in hand with Psalm 130:5, which I became obsessed with back in November, and then got excited about in January, because seriously – it’s truth.
I wait for the Lord, I expectantly wait, and in His word do I hope. – Psalm 130:5 (AMP)
I love when God ties it all together. And I love what He shows us with these simple verses. Because, I can totally relate to facing times of major heat, when I feel like I’m living in a pressure cooker of stress. And I can just as much relate to the drought and those periods of long waiting and doing without. Most of the time I emerge from those things feeling like an itty bitty tree stump (as my amazing friend Julie so awesomely put it) and not like the fruitful person I want to be.  But God tells us when our lives are rooted in hope in Him, we’ll keep flourishing which is pretty awesome.
2 comments

    1. Thank you, Renee! I’ve been reading your blog on my phone but haven’t been able to comment. I hope that this weekend is a good weekend and you’re able to enjoy your walks 🙂

      Like

Join the Conversation

