Today’s Dose of Hope: The Healer and How He’s Healing Me

In case you need a dose of hope today…

This one is inspired by my friend Karyn, who posted this wonderful quote on Facebook. You already know I’m a huge Beth Moore fan, and I love how she just gets right to the heart of the matter. [Thanks for sharing, Karyn!]

“God’s plan is always to heal. You’ve not been through the one thing that Jesus Christ cannot heal. He came to heal you!” – Beth Moore

This is one of my favorite prayers.

Heal me, LORD, and I will be healed;
save me and I will be saved,
for you are the one I praise.

– Jeremiah 17:14 (NIV)

I like to pray it along with my favorite verses, Romans 8:28 and Jeremiah 29:11 to remember that even though He might carry me through hard times, He’s never going to let anything in my life work for bad.

And this is a brand new song that I’m already obsessed with called “The Hurt and the Healer” by MercyMe. You can listen to it here by clicking on “listen to ‘The Hurt and Healer’ here” in the upper right corner.

I have good news for all of you regarding healing as well. Just one week ago I saw my wonderful new general practitioner, who is a board certified family physician who also practices naturopathic medicine. She walked me through a great booklet of test results, and I was excited to see the results.

Right now we’re focusing on digestive health, and we found that my good bacteria and enzymes are at great level, and that I have no bad bacterial infections like H. Pylori. It’s awesome to know that probiotics and digestive enzyme supplements have helped so much. I still have a low level candida infection in my intestine, which has been putting up a good fight. We were surprised to find out that the infection itself is not that bad, but that my immune system is still pretty compromised, which is why I’m having trouble beating it completely.

My first thought when I heard this news was to be glad that the infection itself is almost gone. I beat it completely six months after I went into remission, but it reared its ugly head again a year ago when I had a new case of Bartonella, and I’ve been battling it ever since.

My second thought was to be surprised that my immune system is still so low. And my third thought was to be super excited about that news – not because my immune system is still struggling, but because God has been doing an AWESOME job of keeping me healthy if that’s the case.

I know there will come a day when Jesus will choose to heal me on the other side of this life. But for now, He’s doing it here on this earth and I’m incredibly grateful.

We have a plan in place for moving forward, that I’m hopeful will go well. Our first try at treatment was not so effective, as it turned out I was only killing off good bacteria since there was no bad bacteria to kill. That, combined with the fact that I tested resistant to many of the herbs in the two products I was taking, explains why I was feeling so ill. But the tests showed that I’m very sensitive to a number of other prescription medications and herbs, and we’ll be hitting the infection with a prescription while reducing inflammation with a “medical food” designed for patients with Chron’s Disease, and using two additional prescriptions to lower my stress hormones and raise my immune system.

I’ll keep you all posted as I continue to share how I’m putting hope in action. I’m excited for these first few steps, and I’m amazed that God will just keep showing us what to do even if we get it wrong the first couple of tries (like I’m prone to do) without ever letting go of our hands.

For I hold you by your right hand—
I, the LORD your God.
And I say to you,
‘Don’t be afraid. I am here to help you.”

– Isaiah 41:13 (NLT)

I hope that all of you are filled with hope for healing – physical, emotional, financial, relational, or whatever kind you need – and that we will be full of the promises that God’s plan is always to heal and that He never lets us go. I don’t know what step Jesus is leading you to make, but in my case He’s showing me more than a few. I’ll need lots of prayers for wisdom and discipline, but I can’t wait to see where they lead.

Join the Conversation

