Hoping by Slowing Down and Being Still

Usually the first thing that God shows me when I get into a rut is that I need to slow down. Almost all of my ruts are the result of running at breakneck speed to keep up with the world around me or other people’s expectations. Usually it’s unconscious and it takes me hitting a major speed bump and falling flat on my face in the rut for me to even realize I’ve been doing it. I’m not always running physically either. Sometimes I’m pushing myself too hard emotionally or mentally instead. A lot of times it’s a combination of all three.

Luckily, God knows how to reach me even when I’m running. He knows how to speak to my soul, and if I’m going too fast to stop and listen to that, He’s not afraid to find me through a friend, the book that I’m reading, or my favorite authors’ status updates am and slap me with the same message over and over again until I get it.

Slowing down was a big part of the healing process that He took me through, but once was feeling I better I started subconsciously pushing myself to do more. I thought I was working toward helping other people feel better too, but in the process I was forgetting most of what I’d learned about caring for myself.  It sounds a little weird to say I’m putting hope into action by slowing down, but that’s exactly what I’m doing.

These are some of the things that God has sharing with me as He reminds me to slow my roll and focus on Him.

Steph sent me this one from Joyce Meyer’s Facebook page:

A complicated life is a miserable life, and simplicity should be sought as an essential quality of the spiritual life. – Joyce Meyer

I read this amazing quote in the book I’m reading right now:

We need to find God, and He cannot be found in noise and restlessness. God is the friend of silence. See how nature – trees, flowers, grass – grow in silence; see the stars, the moon and sun, how they move in silence… the more we receive in silent prayer, the more we can give in our active life. We need silence to be able to touch souls. The essential thing is not what we say, but what God says to us and through us. All our words will be useless unless they come from within – words which do not give the light of Christ increase the darkness. – Mother Teresa

And of course, this is one that God always whispers to my soul when I’m getting burnt out:

Be still, and know that I am God… – Psalm 46:10

For Lent this year, I’m practicing slowing down and focusing on what’s really important instead of trying to jam everything that claims to be important in my day. It’s hard in a demanding city with a demanding job and a wedding to plan, but I can see God already bringing me a lot more peace. I’m going to keep writing about slowing down and all the other things I’m doing, too.

Have you found that slowing down makes a difference in your life, too?

5 comments

Join the Conversation

