Putting Hope Into Action

So here’s why I’ve been gone so long. You know how Beth Moore talks about pits? Well I’ve definitely walked into a few ruts not to mention a few full-fledged pits of my own making in the past year. It started super slow, with a few compromises on time management, eating right, or other areas of my life here and there and it’s taken things getting pretty off track for me to open my eyes and see it for what it is. And then I felt really hopeless for like three weeks – right when I disappeared from this here blog.

But I don’t think God had me study all of this stuff about hope to feel hopeless. If anything, He might have been preparing me for these ruts He knew I was walking into. So after lots of what the heck do I do moments, I’m standing up and putting hope into action and remembering this…

…but those who hope in the LORD
will renew their strength.
They will soar on wings like eagles;
they will run and not grow weary,
they will walk and not be faint.

– Isaiah 40:31 (NIV)

Good one, right?

These are some of the ruts / pits I’ve walked into that I’m hoping in Jesus to lead me out of.

Health
Finances
Relationship
Time Management
Serving
Calling

I walked into all of these ruts just by being too busy, too tired, and too stressed out. And I’m getting ready to be pulled out of them by doing the same things Jesus showed me the first time He led me out.

I already started putting hope into action couple weeks ago, when I posted my favorite song by The David Crowder Band. Most of what I’m doing is just being intentional in each of these areas, trimming my plate, and focusing on God. I don’t know if it will be easy, but I’ll share every step with you guys and we’ll see how this journey goes. I’m excited to get back on track and do it with all of you!

This is my theme song. The fiance is madly in love with this song, and he’s been playing it in the car and around his apartment like crazy and teaching it to himself on the guitar, so I get to hear it all the time. It took a couple listens, and then I was like “Oh yeah! The same God who was with me then (when He healed me) is with me now! We can do this!”

I love those moments.

NewSong – The Same God

Here’s the story behind the song, which really touched me, too.

They also have a really cool page on their website that does a great job answering “What is Christianity?” It’s an excerpt from Tim Keller. I ran into Tim Keller in an elevator two weeks ago, and I was all like “Woah, it’s Tim Keller! I just got his book on marriage. It totally changed my entire perspective on my entire relationship for the rest of my entire life,” but I was too shy to say anything except, “Yes, I’m going to the lobby.”

6 comments

  1. Can use your prayers Kim as I am in the pits myself…struggling once again. Slow learner I guess. Inspired by your post, dear. You are a gift to those who deal with Lyme and other struggles. Praise God for your healing .

    Like

    1. Renee, I was praying for you this morning. You and Joel came to my mind. I’m sorry I’ve been so slow to respond. I’m trying to slow down and do less for Lent, but of course it’s a challenge. I will keep you in my prayers.

      Like

Join the Conversation

