Today’s Dose of Hope: God Rescues


On our way toward the mountains yesterday, outside Denver, Colorado

He has delivered us from such a deadly peril, and he will deliver us again. On him we have set our hope that he will continue to deliver us… – 2 Corinthians 1:10 (NIV)

And he did rescue us from mortal danger, and he will rescue us again. We have placed our confidence in him, and he will continue to rescue us. – 2 Corinthians 1:10 (NLT)

I’ve used this verse before in a dose of hope. The New Living Translation says God “rescues us” (written as “delivers” in the New International Version). And the NIV translation says we set our hope on Him that He will continue to do so. Yesterday God rescued the fiancé, his mom, and me from and icy mountain road, and I saw this in bright, scary, God-t0-the-rescue living color.

It all started when we piled into the fiance’s mom’s Honda CRV and drove up to Estes Park, outside Denver, Colorado. It was super beautiful and exciting to this New York City girl who was born and raised in the flat Midwest. I was so in awe of the mountains that we decided to take the “scenic route” back before the severe weather warning that was scheduled for that night took effect.

Just five minutes into our trip we came to a curve in the road that was covered in ice. An SUV two cars ahead of us slammed on the breaks, the car in front of us slammed on the brakes, and we slammed on the brakes. And then we started slipping. First toward one edge of the road, them toward the other. The more the fiancé tried to control the car, the more we skated all over the road.

We weren’t on a super steep edge, but we were definitely on a mountain curve, and the fiancé’s mom and I were more than a little scared. We were slipping and sliding everywhere each time the fiancé even gently pressed the gas, and the brakes were useless. It was clear the CRV’s tires were no match for the huge sheet of ice. My heart was seriously skipping beats at this point. To make matters worse, several oncoming cars tried to make it through the curve only to lose control and skate helplessly within inches of our car.

The fiancé’s mom and I started praying. Almost as soon as I said, “God, please help us!” a giant police SUV came around the bend, and I waved the cop down. He slowly turned around, turned on his lights to warn the other cars, who were sitting back and watching us weave all over the place, and helped us gently maneuver backward off of the ice and away from the curve to dry ground, where the fiancé did a quick U-turn and headed back to town. We decided against the scenic route at that point!

I’ve never been more excited to see a police officer in my life. If that cop hadn’t shown up in the nick of time there definitely would have been several of us stuck on the ice, and in all likelihood it would have turned into a serious case of bumper cars with no one going anywhere except over one of the slopes on either side of the curve. I had no doubts when that giant police SUV showed up that God had heard our prayers, breathed just seconds before. And that He came to our rescue!

Another car, left by the driver to wait out the receding flood waters on Miami Beach (June 2010)

It reminded me of an incident two summers ago, when Steph and I were caught in a flash flood on Miami Beach. It went from normal summer rain to crazy black sky and flooded streets in about 2.5 seconds flat. Before we knew it, our friend’s tiny two-door car was stalled and floating like a canoe as the water was rising.

Again, people were freaking out. But as soon as we started praying a monster truck sized tow truck plowed through the water. I started knocking like crazy on our windows, and the driver stopped and pulled us out first (but not before mouthing “pay me $100”!). Like yesterday we had no doubts that God had heard our prayers and sent a rescuer right in time.

When I looked up “rescue” in the Bible, I found these verses…

“He reached down from heaven and rescued me; he drew me out of deep waters. – 2 Samuel 22:17 (NLT)

But when the people of Israel cried out to the Lord for help, the Lord raised up a rescuer to save them. – Judges 3:9a (NLT)

I talk a lot about how God rescued me from illness and trials and all sorts of other things. But it’s kind of crazy how many times God has rescued me from mortal danger, drawn me out of deep waters, or raised up a rescuer to save me… probably more times than I can remember. Both times we spent the rest of the day laughing at how crazy the situation was and praising God for literally pulling us out in the nick of time. And taking lots of pictures. Because I never fail to get myself into some sort of crazy mess every time I go on a new “adventure”… and God never fails to pull me out!

4 comments

  1. I’m 64 y/o! I have come to realize that we will never know all the times that our God has rescued us and we didn’t even know it.

    I’m so glad our God is in the rescuing business.

    Have a great new year and never trust the ice.

    Like

  2. God never stops rescuing. i love it. so glad to hear that you are okay! happy new year Kim! looking forward to hoping in God’s best for us this year. sending hope and faith along your path!

    Like

Join the Conversation

