Today’s Dose of Hope

Crosswalk published a really good devotional yesterday called “The Thrill of Hope.” When I saw the title I thought, that’s exactly what God’s been talking to me about.  But for all the thinking I’ve been doing about hope, I’ve never quite thought about it like the author of this devotional. He talks about hope being received from God as a reward for faith. In other words, it’s through faith that we reach out to God, who responds by blessing us with hope.

I think he’s really onto something.

How many times have I cried out to God for help? More than I can count. As I look back on it, I can see how He’s answered each time by placing hope in my heart. I didn’t always know how things would work out. In some cases, it took years or over a decade to work out. But each time He’s given me the hope to keep going and trust that He’s at work. And each time I’ve seen Him move in big ways – freeing me from abuse, healing me of major illnesses, picking me back up after I lost everything in 2009, and blessing me along the way in more ways than I can count.

As I think about this devotional, I realize that hope really is a gift from God. It’s His way of reaching down and telling us, “everything’s going to be OK. Let me make a little deposit in your heart to show you that.”

The author uses this verse that tells us how God fills us with hope.

May the God of hope fill you with all joy and peace in believing, that you may abound in hope by the power of the Holy Spirit. – Romans 15:13 (NASB)

And he also quotes an awesome passage from Max Lucado’s God Came Near that I seriously want to plaster above my bed for a nice wake up call every time I open my eyes. Why have I never read a Max Lucado book? Which Max Lucado book should I read? Someone point me in the right direction.

You can read it all for yourself here.

You guys, I hope you are all hopeful right now. I love talking about hope with all of you. Actually, I have a new hope project I’ve been working on for weeks now that’s waiting in the wings. It’s true I’ve kind of neglected my daily doses of hope, and I miss them like crazy. But I’m so excited that I finally got the time to start typing up the new project to share with all of you. I can’t wait to keep talking about hope, and I’m praying each of you is experiencing joy, peace, and hope just like the verse says.

6 comments

  1. Ahhhh, just what I needed today Kim. Bless you dear for your inspirational posts. Good insights here today with hope coming from God in return for being faithful.

    Like

    1. It’s such a good devotional, and I never consciously thought of hope in that way. I was very excited to read it and have my eyes opened. I hope you’re doing well today! I was reading your blog at work the other day, but didn’t get a chance to comment… I’m enjoying it a lot. 🙂

      Like

    1. So true, Janet! I thought of that when I was listening to “O Come Emanuel” today and how the whole human race has been living for the hope of a Savior and now WITH the hope of a Savior. Christmas is truly amazing.

      Like

  2. Tq for the beautiful remainder… so blessed to meet u on Foodbuzz and tq for ur kind comment on my blog 🙂
    Yes… when can still hope in our heart that means God is still with us no matter how hard life offer us 🙂
    stay in faith and trust God’s heart… blesss* 😉

    Like

Join the Conversation

