Today’s Dose of Hope

I read a devotional this morning from Proverbs 31 Ministries that totally ties in with exactly what I started to write about yesterday.

In the devotional Lysa TerKeurst writes about when troubles or failure can actually be the “best worst thing” to happen. I love it.

As a perfectionist, I used to hate when I failed at something. I also used to believe that it was possible to live a trouble free life if I just tried hard enough. (Those are both things I talk about in my testimony, and to make a long story short and spare you the whole thing, God’s done a lot of work on me in those areas.)

Last night I finished Get Out of that Pit  by Beth Moore, and I was so sad to put it down it’s not even funny. I wanted to extend each chapter by a million pages.  The second to last chapter talks about what it is to have a “new song” in our mouths (from Psalm 40:1-3) after we’ve been delivered from a pit.  And while I would never wish illness on anyone and would never want to be ill again myself, I could totally relate to that new song. God used my illness to change me in some of the best ways possible.

What’s the moral of the story? Sometimes the thing we see as a failure or a trial can be the thing that opens the door for us to see God’s amazing power in our lives. For us to be delivered and set free  beyond our wildest imaginations. And the thing that puts a new song in our mouths.

Read the great devotional here.

I don’t know about you, but I totally relate to what Lysa’s saying, and it gives me so much hope for the good things God has in store.

For I know the plans I have for you,” declares the LORD, “plans to prosper you and not to harm you, plans to give you hope and a future. – Jeremiah 29:11 (NIV)

Join the Conversation

