Today’s Dose of Hope

Eek! Sorry I’ve been out of touch. I’ve been grading midterm papers like a madwoman, but there’s something I’ve been dying to talk about for weeks now, and that thing is waiting.

While looking at and thinking about God’s Word in terms of what is says about God, what it says about me, and of course what it says about hope, I realized that there are two things that go right along with hope:

  1. Trials and trouble
  2. Waiting

Trouble is something I don’t like to talk about when it comes to doses of hope, but at the same time the more I study hope the more I realize that it’s intrinsically tied to trials. Jesus tells us that we will have trouble.

“In this world you will have trouble… ” – John 16:33 (NIV)

There is all kinds of brokenness and free will in this world, which means you and I can make bad decisions and cause trouble, and you and I can also experience trouble caused by someone else’s bad decision. Not to mention that all of us at some point will be victim to a pileup of trouble that started centuries ago as the sad result of a broken world. This world is not heaven.

But Jesus also promises that we can hope for better through the troubles, because He has overcome the world. Not only does He promise that we can hope, He tells us we should hope.

“I have told you these things, so that in me you may have peace. In this world you will have trouble. But take heart! I have overcome the world.” – John 16:33 (NIV)

I think for years I heard that and believed it, but at the same time… it didn’t really make waiting for things to get better any easier. Waiting has always been the hardest part.

That’s probably why God has been  hitting me over the head (gently of course) with all sorts of messages on waiting in the past two weeks. It all started with a video of Greg Laurie interviewing Randy Alcorn that I watched from home… which led me to read Romans 8 in its entirety… which led me to want to study what the Bible says about the connection between trials, hope, and waiting even  more. Then I read a little further in Get Out of that Pit (which I’m almost done with and still in love with) only to find an entire chapter dedicated to waiting on God.

Have you ever noticed that when God has something to tell you, He’ll hit you from every angle? Have you ever also noticed that usually the thing He wants to tell you is the exact thing you needed to hear?

Since then I’ve written pages and pages in my journal and Google docs about trials, waiting, and hope and how they all tie together. It’s made me even more in love with writing about hope. I can’t wait to put my thoughts into sentences that actually make sense and share it all with you.

Until then I’ll share another verse that I’m loving right now, because of how well it sums up hope. I love that it reminds us that hope is expectation. I love that it reminds us that God’s Word is His promise. And I love to read this now before I read His Word.

I wait for the Lord, I expectantly wait, and in His word do I hope. – Psalm 130:5 (AMP)

5 comments

  1. I like the verse from Ps. 130 in the amplified. Amazing. I think of hope with advent and the time of preparation…it was a time of waiting too, waiting for the Christ child to arrive…
    Trials..I don’t like to remember that they will come because we live in a fallen world. BUT along with that comes hope that they will end too! And God will be victorious…Great post, Kim.

    Like

    1. Good one, Renee! I haven’t specifically celebrated Advent in a long time, but I want to take the time to celebrate / acknowledge it this year and remember what it means. Thanks for the kind words. I stumbled across that AMP translation on my iPhone app of all places, and really love it. I hope you’re having a good day!

      Like

Join the Conversation

