Today’s Dose of Hope

Lately I’ve been reading a lot about prayer. Not so much intentionally as it’s just popped out of the page as I’ve been reading and made an impression.

A couple weeks ago, I posted a verse that stood out to me as I was reading Beth Moore’s Get Out of that Pit (I’m still reading this book and loving every page). The New International Version puts it this way:

He has delivered us from such a deadly peril, and he will deliver us again. On him we have set our hope that he will continue to deliver us. – 2 Corinthians 1:10 NIV

I like that translation because it makes a point to tell us that “On Him we have set our hope.” And if God tells us through His Word that we have set our hope on Him, we know that we can set our hope on Him.

I never posted the second half of that verse though, which Beth Moore also uses in her book.

… as you help us by your prayers. Then many will give thanks on our behalf for the gracious favor granted us in answer to the prayers of many. – 2 Corinthians 1:11 NIV

I love the way Beth Moore goes into this in the book,  but in a nutshell what I love about this verse is that it tells us that we can set our hope on Him as our deliverer and know that He hears our prayers (and the “prayers of many” who pray for us). Awesome.

The New Living Translation puts it all together like this:

And he did rescue us from mortal danger, and he will rescue us again. We have placed our confidence in him, and he will continue to rescue us. And you are helping us by praying for us. Then many people will give thanks because God has graciously answered so many prayers for our safety. – 2 Corinthians 1:10-11 NLT

Isn’t it cool to read the translations back to back and see all the deeper meanings within the words? We have placed our hope on (confidence in) Him, that He will continue to rescue us. And we are helped by others’ prayers for our safety.

I’m not going to lie, I love having people pray for me. When I was a member at my last church (the church I attended all through my treatment) I always looked forward to putting in a prayer request on my connection card on Sundays and to prayer request time with my small group (who would pray for each other all week). I can’t tell you what a difference it’s made in my life over the years to have a group of people talking to God on my behalf and to be able to pray for the same group of people. They taught me a lot about putting in praise reports and honestly sharing my needs, and waiting in faith while God acts.

The fiance and I go to a new church now (not because we don’t love our previous church but because this fall has been a big season of change with our engagement, new jobs, new commutes, new schedules, and new things to plan for), and I still love putting in prayer requests on Sundays. I’m missing the regular small group, so I can’t wait to get plugged in with a new group at our new church home.

Do you guys have connection cards at church or a small group who sends around prayer requests every week? If you ever want to share prayer requests, you can leave a comment or email me at walletfriendlywellness@gmail.com.

p.s. I just saw that Beth Moore’s Get Out of that Pit is on sale for $5.99 on Christianbook.com! I’m so excited that I’m going to rearrange my budget and see if I can squeeze in a few of these for Christmas gifts!

2 comments

  1. Great post, Kim…love the scritpure. I am going to have to get her book myselff…I have not read any of her things but have seen her on tv once or twice if I have the right woman. I noticed Joyce Meyers book was close to the same price? Must be for Black Friday maybe… Take care and thanks for your comment.

    Like

    1. Hi Renee! I’ve become a big fan after reading this. I haven’t seen her on TV yet (I don’t actually own a TV), but I’m going to find it online and watch if I can. Thanks for the tip on Joyce’s book, too! I’ll have to look at it. I think both make great gifts. 🙂

      I hope you’re having a good day!

      Like

Join the Conversation

