Today’s Dose of Hope

I started this new thing on my commute home where I jot down verses from the book I’m reading and list what that verse says about God and what that verse says about me. It’s changing the way I’m reading the Bible in general now. It’s not that I’ve never thought along those lines before, but I don’t know that I’ve ever stopped and taken the time to write it down in list form.

This morning I was thumbing through email devotionals on my phone and read these two verses in two different emails. My mind automatically snapped into “What does this say about God? What does this say about me?” mode.

I think it’s pretty incredible that I just happened to get two emails today to remind me that God is with me, and that He’s here to strengthen and help me.

But the Lord stood with me and strengthened me …. – 2 Timothy 4:17

For I hold you by your right hand— I, the Lord your God. And I say to you, ‘Don’t be afraid. I am here to help you. – Isaiah 41:13

Isaiah 41:13 is one of my favorite verses. I prayed this one all the time when my anxiety was at all time high with my illness, and I still think about it whenever I start to get afraid or anxious. For example, did I ever tell you that I have a fear of being home alone? … Now you know. This is one of the verses I carry with me nearly every time I’m home alone (which can be a lot these days), and guess what… I still don’t like being home alone, but I can do it, I can sleep well, and I can wake up and be happy for another day. And that is awesome.

3 comments

  1. I am right with you on staying alone overnight…and I use this verse among others also. When Joel was gone 4 days and 3 nights recently, I managed to go up to our top floor and sleep with the help of the 4 big burly angels I asked for from God to guard my bed and the ones outside the house too 🙂 I told God I knew it was overkill…but to humor me as I was a work in progress! I slept pretty good too. God bless…

    Like

    1. Renee, it makes me feel so good to know that I’m not the only adult out there who’s scared of being home alone. 🙂 I love your request for a bunch of big burly angels! Good one, and I can just imagine God getting a kick out of your humor, too. I hope you’re having a good day!

      Like

Join the Conversation

