Today’s Dose of Hope + The Most Hopeful Books I’ve Read

I came across this verse on my way home from work yesterday, and then it popped into my head at least twice more throughout the night. Mostly because I kept thinking about true it is, and how glad I am that it’s so true.

And he did rescue us from mortal danger, and he will rescue us again. We have placed our confidence in him, and he will continue to rescue us. – 2 Corinthians 1:10 (NLT)

I read it in Beth Moore’s Get Out of that Pit, which I think is the perfect follow-up or prequel to Joyce Meyer’s Battlefield of the Mind. I can’t decide. I think they are tied in my mind for the categories of “books I wish I read a long time ago” and “books I’ll probably need to re-read ten million times for the rest of my life. ”

When I was first healed, it was an amazing feeling. It was probably one of the most freeing feelings in the world – not just because I was better physically, but because God had done so much work in my emotionally, mentally, and in my relationship with Him in the process. But for some reason, I made the silly mistake of assuming that would mean everything’s going to be totally 100% better from now on.

As in: I will never, ever have to face a health issue again. Everyone I know will have a beautiful life. I will never be stressed or upset again, because this beautiful thing has happened.

But then real things happened in life to me and people I care about, and I started to wonder, “will I get knocked down every time I stand up?”

I love Battlefield of the Mind and Get Out of that Pit because they’ve helped me understand that while God works to heal, lift up, and restore, our enemy works to knock down, take away, and mislead. And he’s going to try to do it over and over again, especially if I’m walking around oblivious to his little tricks.

I like learning from people who have been through that battle (it’s eerie how much I can relate to both Joyce and Beth) and are willing to share the wisdom of how they got to a real place of solid ground. Seriously – I want nothing more than solid ground for myself and the people I care about.

Get Out of that Pit is based on this verse:

He lifted me out of the pit of despair, out of the mud and the mire. He set my feet on solid ground and steadied me as I walked along. – Psalm 40:2 (NLT)

And I love how Beth Moore shows that 2 Corinthians and Psalm 40 can be taken together. Not only will He rescue us and pull us out of the pit to set our feet in solid ground, but He’ll do it over and over again (“He will continue to rescue us”).

I told my roommate after reading this that I think God’s pulled me out of 9,998 of the 10,000 pits I’ve been in throughout my life, and that I can’t wait to see Him skillfully pull me out of the remaining two (I’ll give you a hint – my debtscapades is definitely one of them!).

p.s. Do any of you use Bible.cc? I really like being able to see all the translations at one time.

4 comments

Join the Conversation

