Operation Christmas Child: How to Make a Child Smile This Christmas for Only $10


By some huge stroke of blessing, I’ve been gifted with a crew of generous people in my life.

There’s my mom, who is the Love Language of gift-giving epitomized each holiday season, even when times are tight. There’s my Aunt, whose unending generosity has helped me survive 6 years of New York City, including illness and insect infestation. And there’s my friend Nicole, who’s always been there with an adorable lunch box, a card in the mail, or a brand new pair of gloves when I needed them.

I could also tell you about my former pastor and his wife, who graciously handed over Ikea gift certificates when my apartment suffered a catastrophe. Or my boyfriend, who continues to give me his time, energy, and love on a regular basis. And who loans me a laptop computer and camera so I can blog to my heart’s content. And of course, my sister. Who’s given me more friendship, words of encouragement, fashion advice, free clothing, and free dinners than anyone else I know.

Each of these people has modeled generosity for me, and what it means to see Jesus’ love in the actions of another person. It’s truly because of their open-handedness that I can live as well as I do.

It’s also because of them that I can look at an organization like Samaritan’s Purse and understand, just a little bit, what an impact a shoe box full of gifts might have on  a child this Christmas.

That’s what Operation Christmas Child is all about. Samaritan’s Purse collects shoe boxes full of toys, school supplies, and hygiene items for children in impoverished nations. It’s a practical way to show Jesus’ love to children who normally go without even the basic necessities. And it’s a load of fun to participate in.

For $10 worth of goodies from the dollar store (or my personal fave – Target’s $1 section), we can turn a shoebox into Santa’s sleigh and bring a smile to a child’s face. And that to me is priceless.

Have a shoe box? Have $10? November 15th – 22nd is National Collection Week. Visit Operation Christmas Child’s website to learn more!

Also, I kind of geeked out when I saw that one of my fave people is just as excited as I am.

Join the Conversation

