How I Ended Up in South Florida Twice This Summer


Friends, it’s been a long time. I can’t believe how much time has passed since I left you with a picture of me and Steph frolicking through downtown Miami with not an explanation in sight. The truth is, a lot has happened since then, and if you’ve read my newly updated About page (or are interested enough in the minutiae of my daily life to be reading this at all… Hi mom! Hi Steph!) you already know that Steph has left New York City for the warmer shores of South Florida.

How’d that happen? She quit her job! I quit my job! We both quit our jobs and parted ways to pursue crazy, scary, too-big-to-accomplish-on-our-own dreams that God’s planted in our hearts. Deep breath. I’m still not sure what I was thinking. 😉

But somehow I ended up taking two separate vacations to South Florida this summer, which is two more vacations to South Florida than I’ve ever taken in my entire life, and which were two of the best vacations I’ve ever had. The first time I flew down with Steph to scope out its “could-I-live-here” potential. We toured the art deco hotels of Miami Beach, got caught in (and subsequently towed out of) a flash flood, and (lacking all self-respect and common sense) ventured into The Everglades at the height of bug season wearing new outfits from K-Mart without any socks.

The second trip involved a (new) used car, $300 between us, and a long stretch of I-95 dotted with Days Inn (whose desk clerks so kindly looked the other way as we wheeled a meowing suitcase through their lobby), Wal-Mart, and Ruby Tuesdays.

Somehow we made it through of all of it alive.

Here’s a photographic journey through what went down.


Join the Conversation

